Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavors are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This a spicy,filling soup.I blended the soup after cooking and used quite a lot of pepper.I live in England and several of my asian friends make an almost identical soup as an old Indian family recipe-very authentic. Great if you are on Weight Watchers as both lentils and sweet potatoes are 'free foods' if you are on the Core plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This one's definitely a keeper! I microwaved the sweet potato to save time and dishes and then just squeezed it out of its skin into the pot with the lentils before mashing. At the end I used vegetable broth instead of water (but only a little so that the dhal was very thick). I used LOTS of black pepper, and also some red pepper flakes. The cilantro leaves contribute a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Delicious! best served with rice. My sister made this for the family and it was a healthy meal that everyone liked. the BEST! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Mine somehow came out looking more like green dhal... but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Wow! This was an incredible recipe! I had to change a few things because I didn't have fresh jalapeños or tomatoes (I used both from jar/can) and I added a few more spices (garlic, cinnamon, cloves, and hot sauce). It was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was absolutely lovely. I really mashed everything together,and it ended up more of a thick soup,but it was so,so good. It will be a favorite of ours,for a long time to come. Thank you. I was looking up yams to use,because I am on an Ayurvedic diet, and this is the best recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved this! Made it on a cozy Sunday afternoon for lunch during a game. My market only had yellow split peas-I assume they are close. They worked well for the recipe. I used a potato masher with the beans & the sweet potato. Added 4 cups of vegetable broth and used a stick blender to mix. I left some texture but it was mostly a smooth soup. Has a great kick! My husband always adds hot sauce to my soups, but this didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use a full bag of lentils. Cooked them a long time with Vegetable broth stock and 3 1/4 Tsp of Tumeric. Used three fresh chopped and seeded tomatoes and diced carrots. Followed the recommendations of 3 jalapenos (fresh) and 4 cloves of diced garlic. Microwaved two large sweet potatoes which I blended in by hand to the other ingredients. Also used 2 heaping tablespoons of Sambal Oelek (Huy-Fong foods), which brought a consistent low level of tasty spice. That has really become a favorite addition to most of the recipes I have tried lately. I kept putting water in the mixture to give it a more soupy consistency, but after 6 cups of water and 2 cups of veggie stock, it remained very thick like mashed potatoes. Still very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Absolutely Ultimate Potato Soup

See how to make a hearty potato soup with bacon and a touch of fresh cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States