Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavors are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
The taste is great! I used yellow split peas for lack of yellow lentils, and that may be why I needed extra liquid in this! I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially with some fresh cilantro. Next time, I will add more turmeric and another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This one's definitely a keeper! I microwaved the sweet potato to save time and dishes and then just squeezed it out of its skin into the pot with the lentils before mashing. At the end I used vegetable broth instead of water (but only a little so that the dhal was very thick). I used LOTS of black pepper, and also some red pepper flakes. The cilantro leaves contribute a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use a full bag of lentils. Cooked them a long time with Vegetable broth stock and 3 1/4 Tsp of Tumeric. Used three fresh chopped and seeded tomatoes and diced carrots. Followed the recommendations of 3 jalapenos (fresh) and 4 cloves of diced garlic. Microwaved two large sweet potatoes which I blended in by hand to the other ingredients. Also used 2 heaping tablespoons of Sambal Oelek (Huy-Fong foods), which brought a consistent low level of tasty spice. That has really become a favorite addition to most of the recipes I have tried lately. I kept putting water in the mixture to give it a more soupy consistency, but after 6 cups of water and 2 cups of veggie stock, it remained very thick like mashed potatoes. Still very good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious!! I had to make some changes since my market didn't have fresh jalapenos. Used a small can of nacho jalapenos and 3 habanero peppers. Also added extra tumeric and about 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper. Very filling and soo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoRo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
YUM! I have a big bowl of this right now and am really enjoying it. A few changes I made: 1) I used 2 sweet potatoes and microwaved them to save time and dishes. 2) I sauteed a ton of garlic in with the veggies - about 4 cloves worth! 3) I added a ton more pepper 4) I used a big bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped it up, and threw it in with the veggies 5) I omitted the tamarind (didn't have it!) 6) I only used 2 jalapenos 7) At the end I threw everything in the blender all together, so my soup is really creamy. This is so delicious, nutritious, and simple. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This a spicy,filling soup.I blended the soup after cooking and used quite a lot of pepper.I live in England and several of my asian friends make an almost identical soup as an old Indian family recipe-very authentic. Great if you are on Weight Watchers as both lentils and sweet potatoes are 'free foods' if you are on the Core plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
I make this all the time. I use less water so it is like a mash not a soup, and I serve it with rice. I often make double batches and freese it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States