Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2004
Though this takes several steps, the results are well worth it. We actually completed the recipe in less than an hour, and used a hand-blender instead of mashing the sweet potatoes & lentils. The flavors are perfect together-hearty, nutritious and spicy(but not too). One of the most delicious soups we have made from an allrecipes.com recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
just so-so. i had to add a lot of other spices so it wasn't as bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This a spicy,filling soup.I blended the soup after cooking and used quite a lot of pepper.I live in England and several of my asian friends make an almost identical soup as an old Indian family recipe-very authentic. Great if you are on Weight Watchers as both lentils and sweet potatoes are 'free foods' if you are on the Core plan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coventry, Warwickshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This one's definitely a keeper! I microwaved the sweet potato to save time and dishes and then just squeezed it out of its skin into the pot with the lentils before mashing. At the end I used vegetable broth instead of water (but only a little so that the dhal was very thick). I used LOTS of black pepper, and also some red pepper flakes. The cilantro leaves contribute a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I thought this was very good, especially with some fresh cilantro. Next time, I will add more turmeric and another jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I used a can of diced tomatoes with jalepeno peppers since I didn't have either ingredient and this worked out well. I also sauteed some garlic and ginger with the onions and added extra black and cayenne pepper. I blended all of the ingredients using an immersion blender (which is the best investment if you like to make soups and smoothies). Soup turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
We weren't too impressed with this the day I made it. We tasted the heat from the jalapenos, but not much flavor. It was much better the next day after it had time to sit. I had it for lunch and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Delicious! best served with rice. My sister made this for the family and it was a healthy meal that everyone liked. the BEST! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
YUM! I have a big bowl of this right now and am really enjoying it. A few changes I made: 1) I used 2 sweet potatoes and microwaved them to save time and dishes. 2) I sauteed a ton of garlic in with the veggies - about 4 cloves worth! 3) I added a ton more pepper 4) I used a big bunch of fresh cilantro, chopped it up, and threw it in with the veggies 5) I omitted the tamarind (didn't have it!) 6) I only used 2 jalapenos 7) At the end I threw everything in the blender all together, so my soup is really creamy. This is so delicious, nutritious, and simple. Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Comfort food!!! I did find that I needed 2 sweet potatoes, maybe even 3 the next time. The onions did not soften as I would have like, but that's my error. I added cumin, coriander, and red pepper at the end. I used black beluga lentils that looked wonderful with the orange potatoes...perfect for halloween! I cooked the lentils separate from the potatoes, as in the recipe. But I only mashed the potatoes...I did not mash both the potatoes and the lentils as I wanted to maintain the texture of the lentils. The tomatoes seemed a little out of place. I'll try cooking them down further, but if that does not work, then I will omit them. I did not feel the need to add extra liquid to make it stew like as I considered it comfort food as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States