Yellow Dhal - Sweet Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I used butternut squash and a wee bit of asafoetida.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Loved this! Made it on a cozy Sunday afternoon for lunch during a game. My market only had yellow split peas-I assume they are close. They worked well for the recipe. I used a potato masher with the beans & the sweet potato. Added 4 cups of vegetable broth and used a stick blender to mix. I left some texture but it was mostly a smooth soup. Has a great kick! My husband always adds hot sauce to my soups, but this didn't need any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Great, hearty, comfort food. I too cooked the potatoes in the microwave. I mashed the potatoes enough to allow a little chunk here and there and barely mashed the lentils into the potatoes to retain most of their shape: the textures were excellent. I also minced and sauteed three garlic cloves with the onion and added cinnamon, cumin and red & black pepper and salt to the spices, using fresh parsley for lack of cilantro. Served with warm basmati rice this made an excellent meal and even better warmed for lunch the next day. If one were to add much liquid at the end I would suggest increasing spices and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugaree1485

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Starkville, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious!! I had to make some changes since my market didn't have fresh jalapenos. Used a small can of nacho jalapenos and 3 habanero peppers. Also added extra tumeric and about 2 teaspoons of cayenne pepper. Very filling and soo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoRo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
This was absolutely lovely. I really mashed everything together,and it ended up more of a thick soup,but it was so,so good. It will be a favorite of ours,for a long time to come. Thank you. I was looking up yams to use,because I am on an Ayurvedic diet, and this is the best recipe yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AccidentalFoodie
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
Amazing, once you season it to your liking. It takes a fair amount of salt; I couldn't really taste the turmeric when I made the recipe as-is. And two jalapenos was plenty for this Midwesterner-turned-Texan palate. What really completed the dish for me was the addition of curry powder -- or, you can experiment with cumin, coriander, and more turmeric as you see fit. It doesn't seem absolutely necessary to steam the sweet potato. Microwaving it would be a much quicker way to get it into a mashable state. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Wow! This was an incredible recipe! I had to change a few things because I didn't have fresh jalapeños or tomatoes (I used both from jar/can) and I added a few more spices (garlic, cinnamon, cloves, and hot sauce). It was phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michalcrum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Mine somehow came out looking more like green dhal... but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
I was sadly dissapointed in this recipe. Followed instructions and the end result was quite bland and that was including the three jalepenos. I had it for left overs for lunch and it still lacked flavor. Not sure if I'd bother with this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Comfort food!!! I did find that I needed 2 sweet potatoes, maybe even 3 the next time. The onions did not soften as I would have like, but that's my error. I added cumin, coriander, and red pepper at the end. I used black beluga lentils that looked wonderful with the orange potatoes...perfect for halloween! I cooked the lentils separate from the potatoes, as in the recipe. But I only mashed the potatoes...I did not mash both the potatoes and the lentils as I wanted to maintain the texture of the lentils. The tomatoes seemed a little out of place. I'll try cooking them down further, but if that does not work, then I will omit them. I did not feel the need to add extra liquid to make it stew like as I considered it comfort food as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Spicy Baked Sweet Potato Fries

See how to make healthy baked sweet potato fries with a spicy kick.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States