Yellow Clooney Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Moms BDay is tomorrow and she requested yellow cake with chocolate frosting, she's definitely going to love this recipes. After two great cakes using this recipe I ventured onto a different cake recipe on this site. Big mistake, the new recipe was a visual disaster but after a day in the fridge it tasted all right. The recipe contributor has stated that she uses 2 9 inch rounds but her rounds are two inches taller than the standard 9 inch round.. Makes tons of batter. Probably 2 or 3 double layer cake's worth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
We made it with all purpose flour, 1/4 cup cream, 1 1/4 cups milk because we didn't have buttermilk ( cut the recipes down for nine people( love that you can do that automatically here)) and 2 tsps of vanilla and it was still amazing. For sure making this my go to yellow cake recipes. Thanks so much for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by YaYa24
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
The cake was very dry Having read the reviews, I even brushed the layers with simple syrup. It was so dry that it absorbed the buttercream and mango curd in between the layers. Knowing this, I'll tweak the recipe next time, using less baking powder and either baking at 325 degrees or using less baking time. In spite of the dryness, my coworkers happily chowed down on... After all, cake is cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MarissaF
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Well, the flour is all wrong. I knew 4 tbsp was wrong but 2 c was not right either. I have a wavy top cake and a hole in the bottom and my cake tester came out clean....guess I'll be making a different cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I thought this cake turned out very dry. The recipe, as others have said, makes a lot of batter so I made a 3 layer cake. It did not get good reviews at my house. It's a shame after I spent the time to make it, my husband said he would have preferred I use a cake mix from a box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
I've made this as the recipe stands AND as a gluten-free version. SPECTACULAR! For the GF version, I used a blend: 1/2 rice flour, 1/4 sorghum flour, 1/4 potato starch plus 1 tbsp xanthan gum. Instead of 4 whole eggs, I used 8 egg whites, whipped stiff, then folded into the rest of the cake batter to give it some air. Worked beautifully! I have made both versions several times, also turning them into rum cake. This will be my go-to recipe for a yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BewitchedGal
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I made this yesterday for my sons birthday and it tuned out GREAT! I was going back and forth between this recipe and one other on this site I ended up choosing this one because I thought the buttermilk would be good in it and the other recipe did not use buttermilk. After reading the reviews I knew I would have enough for a 3 layer cake and I did. I followed the directions to a T and it was the best yellow cake recipe I have ever made. My husband took some to a friends house they loved it! The wife said it was the best home made cake she had ever tasted. I made a salted caramel frosting and it was fantastic. This will definitely be made again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I hate this recipe! The parchment paper burned and my house smelled like smoke for an hour! The batter was too sticky, and it took a long time to remove the batter from my bowl. I'm sorry to say, but even though I followed the recipe step by step, the cake turned out to be a disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
OK. Confession. When I was younger and I'd make a cake, I'd always filch batter. By the spoonful. Couldn't help myself! As a result, my cakes were never very tall. Fast forward a few decades. I'm diabetic. No more tastes when baking for me! Even so, nothing prepared me for how much batter this recipe made. I got three very full 9" layers and 8 cupcakes. Couldn't believe how I just kept filling cupcake papers. How could anyone possibly fit this into "2- 9" pans"??? Anyway, I tasted one of the cupcakes, and was absolutely blown away by the texture - so moist with a fine, light crumb. It's everything you love about a mix cake, minus that obnoxious, artificial flavor. Those who say it was dense, there are a couple of possible causes. You could have beaten too much after the flour was added, encouraging formation of gluten, the protein in flour that gives structure in breads. Simply incorporate the flour gently and stop, which will obviate that problem. Or perhaps you opted for all purpose flour instead. Big mistake. If you don't have cake flour, measure out 3-1/2 cups all purpose and add 1/2 cup cornstarch. Sift 3 times. If you used cake flour, did you sift? Sifting aerates your flour. If your product was dry, that indicates either overbaking or a temp that was too high. Calibrate your oven using an oven thermometer every 2-3 months. If everything is done as directed, this is the best of the best. And as a former pastry chef, I'm pretty finicky! Thank you for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Gluten-Free Yellow Cake

See how to make a basic yellow cake with no wheat flour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States