Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2002
My husband and 2 sons didn't care for it, believe it was because of the orange juice. I didn't think it was bad, but I like cake mix better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Knewasser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2002
I use this recipe for cupcakes. It is so sweet and moist, no need for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRYNSMOMMY

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clackamas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
I found this really good and yummy, though I had to cook it a little longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
Super easy & fairly quick to make. Baking time was only 33 minutes, so that wasn't bad :) Very tasty, though a slight orange taste. I can't wait to frost it w/chocolate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
This is an easy recipe for bake-from-scratch cake. The flavor was good and it was moist. I thought it called for too much sugar though so I cut it down by 1/4 cup and it still tasted pretty sweet. Will try it with just 1-1/2 cups next time. Overall it's a good and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
This cake was good, but it seems to have too much oil in the recipe. I would make it again; next time I'll change the oil to 2/3 cup and also reduce the amount of orange juice a little (maybe only 1/3 cup). Also, it only took 35 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
This recipe didn't taste good at all. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
I used this cake with pineapple upside down cake V instead of the box cake it calls for. I used 1.5 cups of sugar and 3/4 cup pineapple juice. I baked it in two 9in pans for about 30 minutes. It is VERY moist, sweet- very tasty. I made it for my husband's birthday and he liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
my cake stuck to the pan so i would reccomend that you butter and flour the pan before you pour in the cake batter. it was a little oily for my taste but it was incredibly moist although it was not the yellow color that i was looking for it turned out very dark but i think that was because of the orange juice. it tasted great but i thought the orange was to subtle, next time i'll use a regular yellow cake recipe with orange extract. not very impressed since the cakes fell in the middle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This cake didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States