Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was really good! I did tweak it just a bit. I didn't end up having enough OJ, but I did have a few lemons, so I juiced those. About 1/2 and 1/2 OJ & lemon juice. I also added in the lemon zest from 1 lemon. I had some lemon juice left over, so after I took it out of the oven I poked holes in the cake and poured a lemon glaze (lemon juice & powdered sugar) on top. After that set, I sprinkled it with powdered sugar. It was wonderful! Tasted just like lemon bars. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I got this cake to turn out wonderfully - with modifications thanks to reading the reviews. I added a cup of flour and subtracted an egg. I didn't have oj in the house so I used mountain dew. I beat it on high speed for two minutes. I would start checking it for doneness as much as 10 minutes early. My oven bakes fast and I took it out after 35, but it could have done with a couple of minutes less. The cake domed beautifully, looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I also by trade am a baker and by that, I know what I am getting into when I get random recipes online. This was a pleasant surprise. It is not something I would frost up or decorate, but maybe leave in the pan, or make two with a think frosting center and no outer frosting. The taste is very unique and super moist. The crispy edges taste amazing. Expect something different and you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I did not like this cake at all. I followed the instructions and should have listened the reviews. The cake was very dense..not light at all and had a crust on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
ok, there's a good chance this was my fault. I tried to use the recipe for cupcakes, and they completely collapsed. they didn't taste terrible (a little eggy, as others have said) but i liked the citrus tones.... it may have been my oven, which is old and shady : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Whiskey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Not a bad recipe. It was a little eggy with three eggs, I am glad I didnt use four as the recipe called for. It is a basic cake I will definatly make again. I didn't find the orange juice to be strong , it was a nice flavor. topped with white frosting and fresh blueberries made a nice refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
If you expect this to turn out like a store bought boxed cake mix you will be disappointed. If you are looking for something slightly unusual and distinctive, you will be satisfied. I ony used 3 eggs and omitted the OJ. It tastes almost like sugar cookies and yes, it does have a crispy "crust" but that just adds to the uniqueness of this cake. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
FABULOUS cake - disappearing fast. This cake even tastes great with no additions of frosting, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It broke apart, but I think that was my fault. Otherwise it was quite good. It did smell a little eggy as it was baking but it didn't taste that way. I separated the layers with apricot jam -- yum. The orange didn't come through as much as I would have liked, so next time I might omit one of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Very good - moist, sticky and "citrus-y." I selected this recipe because I was very low on milk, and this recipe doesn't call for any. But it is different. I have not tried baking this in round pans and decorating with the usual frosting. Instead, I bake this in a 9x13 casserole and add a thin glaze made from powdered sugar, milk and a little orange extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States