Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made this and followed other user's suggestions by adding 1 add'l cup of flour and reducing the egg by 1. It was WAAAAAY to floury. If I were to make this again I'd try adding an additional 1/2 cup of flour instead. I love that this had no butter, but other than that the flavor was lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I did not care for this! Crusty, dark brown and flat... Not recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This was really good! I did tweak it just a bit. I didn't end up having enough OJ, but I did have a few lemons, so I juiced those. About 1/2 and 1/2 OJ & lemon juice. I also added in the lemon zest from 1 lemon. I had some lemon juice left over, so after I took it out of the oven I poked holes in the cake and poured a lemon glaze (lemon juice & powdered sugar) on top. After that set, I sprinkled it with powdered sugar. It was wonderful! Tasted just like lemon bars. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Sexton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
I got this cake to turn out wonderfully - with modifications thanks to reading the reviews. I added a cup of flour and subtracted an egg. I didn't have oj in the house so I used mountain dew. I beat it on high speed for two minutes. I would start checking it for doneness as much as 10 minutes early. My oven bakes fast and I took it out after 35, but it could have done with a couple of minutes less. The cake domed beautifully, looked and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I also by trade am a baker and by that, I know what I am getting into when I get random recipes online. This was a pleasant surprise. It is not something I would frost up or decorate, but maybe leave in the pan, or make two with a think frosting center and no outer frosting. The taste is very unique and super moist. The crispy edges taste amazing. Expect something different and you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I did not like this cake at all. I followed the instructions and should have listened the reviews. The cake was very dense..not light at all and had a crust on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
ok, there's a good chance this was my fault. I tried to use the recipe for cupcakes, and they completely collapsed. they didn't taste terrible (a little eggy, as others have said) but i liked the citrus tones.... it may have been my oven, which is old and shady : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliet Whiskey

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Not a bad recipe. It was a little eggy with three eggs, I am glad I didnt use four as the recipe called for. It is a basic cake I will definatly make again. I didn't find the orange juice to be strong , it was a nice flavor. topped with white frosting and fresh blueberries made a nice refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
If you expect this to turn out like a store bought boxed cake mix you will be disappointed. If you are looking for something slightly unusual and distinctive, you will be satisfied. I ony used 3 eggs and omitted the OJ. It tastes almost like sugar cookies and yes, it does have a crispy "crust" but that just adds to the uniqueness of this cake. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
FABULOUS cake - disappearing fast. This cake even tastes great with no additions of frosting, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States