Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
I just made these and they're awesome! I made them into cupcakes and they cooked in about 20 minutes. I used 1/2 cup of orange juice instead of 3/4 because that was all I had left. I is very delicious and moist. it has a crispy top that is also very good. I was going to make a frosting for these, but I think they are better alone. I wouldn't use this as your basic yellow cake mix, but it's still a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
I made mini-cupcakes from this recipe. My whole family liked them, which is a huge shock. It does have a citrus flavor (which I think is to be expected). I frosted them with a butter-cream icing, which may have made them a little sweet if they had been regular-sized cupcakes, but as it was they were fine. I plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I made this with the help of 4 kids ranging from 1-9 years old. We used fresh squeezed orange juice and the kids got impatient after only squeezing 1/2 a cup so that's all we used. The batter looks like it needs more flour but after reading a review from another user, I knew not to add any. The cake is moist and delicious!!! We're using it for strawberry shortcake. It was super simple and tastes oh so good! I will be using this recipe instead of buying boxed cake mix from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
This is wonderful. Very easy and works for a milk and gum allergy. Just what I've been looking for. I used cake flour and made a frosting with orange juice con. and powdered sugar and even my boyfriend loved it....he hardly likes anything I make because he does like certain textures or foods and this cake is loved by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
this cake is amazing and is very rich!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
it was super easy and actually very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
My husband ( who is NOT a baker) made this cake as written and it was wonderful! The cake was sweet so we frosted it w/ a butter cream frosting and I just cut some of the sugar out of that recipe. My kids loved it and I will have him make it again. He also baked it in a stoneware bunt pan because thats what he thought the picture was of:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This cake is absolutely GREAT. I have had several friands and relatives try it and I have all kinds of positives coments. The great sampling came abour when I misread the recipe and used two cups of vegetable oil which meant that I had to double the rest of the ingredients. That gave me much more to share. The positive comments were outstanding. The only variation that I made is that I did not have enough vanilla extract so I substituted lemon extract. It was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
the sides are a bit crunchy, but it tasted great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States