Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
While I appreciate the experience represented, the fact that one has dedicated his/her life to being a baker does not make one infallible. Fellow "non-experts," please remember this when reading reviews such as the previous one. :) Don't be afraid to try a recipe yourself, even if the professionals are naysayers. Now, for my experience... I made this recipe almost exactly as specified and it turned out great for me. Keep in mind that a cake made with oil will turn out a bit more dense. I think you also have to use some common sense with this one. It does not specifically say to use a mixer, but with most cakes you do. So, that is what I did with this one. Do not over-mix, though, or you will have an even denser cake. The only change I made was to use brown sugar instead of white. I also cut it down just a bit and added just a tad more flour to make up the difference (probably about 1/4 cup exchange). It looked like a slightly runnier cake batter when it was mixed completely. Also, before I added the wet ingredients to the dry, I mixed them first. Again, this just seemed sensible to me, based on other cakes I've made. I did cut back on the orange juice because I was afraid it would be overpowering to use as a strawberry shortcake. However, I wish I had not. The orange flavor would have been better with the full amount of juice. Great moist cake! Nothing wrong with the recipe. I think it just needs to be clarified a little to say exactly what it means.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
A little buttery, but otherwise fine. Great with orange flavored chocolate icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I made this cake bc I had all the ingredients already. I liked it very much it is very moist, since I didn't have any oj i used fruit punch. I did find the cake very sweet so I did not frost it next time I will use less sugar and maybe a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NadyasMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Good basic cake--works great for cake squares that get covered with fresh berries and cool whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoneville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Too dense and "eggy."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happykimmyj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FNChef
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
LOVED it. It baked beautifully and I really enjoyed the light orange flavors... yum! Delicious and perfect with a vanilla buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
AWESOME! I didn't have any orange juice so i used apple juice and it turned out moist and yummy! I would definately recomendant this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is so good! I added to mashed bananas and 1 1/3 cup of butterscotch chips to the mix. Then I baked it in a loaf pan for 45-50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantCook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Baked this once before and used milk and it turned out bad. I decided to give this another try with the exact ingredients except a bit altered and one word, AMAZING. LOVE the hint of orange in it. soo good! and it is SO moist it's unbelivable. I changed a couple of things though. 1 cup of sugar instead of 2 because it will be way too sweet and 2 eggs instead of 4. you have to try it and ignore all the bad reviews. They obviously didnt make it right the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I have to say that at the beginning, and after reading all the bad reviews, I thought it would be a dissaster. I was surprised with the results. I absolutely liked its apearance and taste. And best of all, it was easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. I would recommend you give it a try, you will probably be as surprised as I was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silmary_cd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States