Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I read reviews b4 cooking so I made a few adjustments:cut sugar to 1 1/2 cups-oil to 1/2 cup.2 eggs..baked really nice but not a deep cake --should be baked in 9x9 or 12 cupakes...taste good but will add addtl teasp. of vanilla next time-easy cake and wanted to use the ingredients I had at the house ..I will use again if I need a cake in a pinch made caramel icing so it was great with this cake it was the starring role. 4 stars bucuz of ease
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was not a good recipe! We made cupcakes and they did not cook through the center. There was way too much sugar and they crumbled into pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
I thought this was very tasty! I had to make cupcakes and didnt have any box mix or milk in the house so I picked this one. Also they were going to be Halloween cupcakes so I thought the orange taste would be perfect. They came out moist and yummy! 27 minutes in my oven for 24 cupcakes and they are perfect. You can fill up the cupcake batter almost to the top, they dont rise much. Batter very watery but they taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
The cake taste too much eggy, and it came out very moist but with the oil. I believe it is high in calories, therefore we can improve it. I will make it again: 2 or 3 eggs, 1/2 cup of vegetable oil,and 1 1/2 cup of orange juice. And 3 teaspoons of vanilla extract I will post the result when I try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BemComerViver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Volta Redonda, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Dedham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
The cake didn't rise properly so the presentation wasn't good so I gave it 4 stars. I had to improvise a bit and ended up using soymilk in place of orange juice and orange extract in place of vanilla. The changes went over well-it had a great flavor and there wasn't any leftover!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This recipe was just OK. It was very moist though! I did not taste any citrus/ orange flavor. I followed recipe completely!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I have to say I love this cake! I have made it several times now and it is a big hit at the office, home & birthday parties! I followed the recipe, but reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups as I found it a tad too sweet. To add a little freshness to it, I added some lemon zest. Not too much, but just a tad to give it a fresh taste. This is a keeper for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This recipe was okay, but like some other reviewers here, it wasn't to my tastes. It was crumbly, the flavor was okay but I didn't like the "mouth feel" and it was awfully heavy. Since this recipe seems to have varied results for both pros AND novices (why hate on either? both are valid), I'll keep looking for one thats a little more dependable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Very easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States