Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
This cake did not turn out good at all! The flavor was okay so I used it as a base for strawberry shortcake. It stuck to the pan and was crumbly. I hate to give low reviews but I will not be using this recipe again. Save your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by music_is_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
the cake tast good, maybe a little sweet but really good I bake it for 50 min. The only problem that i had was the middle of the cake came out like a dome. It was very thiin in the middle so i cut a circle and made it look like a bunt cake . I really liked it so i am giving it four stars just because it came out like adome in the middle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
I tried this recipe despite the negative views of a few. I loved it. It had no egg taste or heavy orange flavor. In fact, I don't know if you would even know it was orange. I made an orange glaze for a topping, but I want to use this for strawberry short cake and also with chocolate frosting. I did beat my eggs well before adding and then beat the batter well. I used Braum's orange juice which is not strong and large eggs that looked medium to me. Since the cake did not mound you could cut it in half and frost a square cake. I had to make myself stop eating this cake it was so moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
My new pot luck "go-to" cake! It is as easy as mixing up a pan of brownies. The 45 min baking time is spot on. I love a recipe that just works the way it should.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Im not really sure why all the negative reviews. This cake was yum! I will never use box cake again. Next time I will try as cupcakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This cake is very different, kind of funky but edible. my husband and kids all rated it "different" i added a couple more cups of flour to the batter because of how watery it was. its very moist, and has a citrusy flavor. my daughter decided to dye the batter pink, just for fun and it almost ALMOST could fool you if we labeled it a raspberry cake ;) we used a homeade chocolate frosting and that turned out good. i probably wont use this recipe again, but like i said, its edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made it and it didn't turn out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
I use this recipe all of the time. Everyone loves it! It is wonderful! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
This cake was not to my liking!!! DO NOT BAKE THIS. I made the cake the night before a Superbowl party and it got stuck in the pan and got stuck. I was soooo glad that I didn't serve it to my guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I've been using this recipe for about 2 years now. Every time that one of my family members or friends have a party or need a cake they always ask me to make it. It's the favorite of all cakes with them. Goes really great with an orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States