Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I am not an expert cook or baker, so when I bake especially new recipes I must follow the directions perfectly. I did, and this cake turned out great! It's moist and did not crumble at all. I'm always amazed at reviewers who change or modify recipes then complain that it didn't turn out or they didn't like it. I don't quite know why so many people had problems, but for me it was easy and tasty. I didn't use frosting. I drizzled orange juice mixed with a little powdered sugar over the top and it was wonderful. I did use a glass 9 X 13 pan so maybe that made a difference. This recipe is going in my keeper file for sure! Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
Super simple recipe. Definitely not for decorating (or serving to guests), as it's too moist to turn out and has a lovely crunchy top that acts as a topping. Most recommended for a cake that's easy to make, has common ingredients and is for serving to the family. BTW it freezes well as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I followed the recipe except to swap out whole wheat pastry flour and barley flour for the all-purpose to add a little more nutrition and I made cupcakes instead of a cake. They came out totally sunken down in the middle and were very hard and chewy around the edges. Probably won't try this recipe again. They did have a good flavor though, and I even cut the sugar to only 1 and a half cups instead of 2. Two cups would have been WAY too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I made a pineapple upside down cake with this recipe, and it was perfect!! I cut the oil to 3/4 cup, used 1 less egg, and used the pineapple juice (from the pineapple can) instead of orange juice. Nice and moist, with a nice flavor. Super easy, too. I'll use this recipe often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
it was too sweet i recommend using 1.5 cup sugar instead of 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirna abughosh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Finally!!! I made this cake a few months ago for a friends birthday and it got amazing reviews so when I wanted to bake a birthday cake for my son I searched for this one. Unfortunately I couldn't find it anywhere. I searched for an hour until thankfully I found it. Yes, it's THAT good. Moist, dense, and simple. Just the way I like it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
overflowed my 9"(?) cake pans (2?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This was wonderful. The best thing about it is that it's so easy to put together, with things most people have on hand. The oj make just the right amount of secret flavor. I did only use 1/2 cup of oil and it was a little dense. but if you want a homemade tasting cake,definatly try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVNNSTYL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bluff, Utah, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Nice and fluffy. The orange flavor was great too. I made it with lemon custard filling for my mom's birthday and she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I thought this was a great cake, that did not taste like egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Adam
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States