Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I will never use box cake mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Although I read all the reviews I decided NOT to add the flour that it seemed liked it needed and just decided to go with the recipe as it was written. It was great!! This was a very moist, sticky yellow cake with some orange zest. It was great as is. It looks a little funny baking... the middle gets done quicker but it is great as is.. wait it out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Fantastic, this is absolutely delicious. I only had 3 eggs so the cake is a kinda crumbly around the edges. I also ran out of oil so the measuring cup was just one level (I'm guessing 1/8c less) below 1c. Also I used 1c o.j. (to make up for the other deficiencies) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I used this recipe to make a pineapple upside-down cake, so I replaced the orange juice with pineapple juice. It turned out fairly bland even with the added pineapple and brown sugar topping. I think I'll keep looking for a good yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
For purpose of making a pineapple cake i used unsweetened apple sauce and place of oil. i thought it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My family loved the cake. I foolwed the recipe except for the orange juice, I sub. it with lemon juice. Great recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Was looking for a yellow cake recipe because all I had was chocolate cake mix in my pantry. This is a keeper. A moist tasty sponge that took little longer to prepare than cake mix. I followed other reviewers that reduced the oil to 2/3 c, sugar to 1-1/2 c and orange juice to 1/2 c (thanks). I made 2 dozen cupcakes -- baked them in 2 batches for 25 mins each time. Next time I'll put them in for 20 mins as the tops are not very soft when they cool if they're too brown. I melted 1 cup of white chocolate chips with 1 tsp of shortening in the microwave and when cooled, spooned this in a ziplock bag, cut a little hole in it and drizzled this over the cupcakes. This was not only easier then making frosting, but emphasized the tastiness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Horrible Big waste of time and money. Just don't do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This cake didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
my cake stuck to the pan so i would reccomend that you butter and flour the pan before you pour in the cake batter. it was a little oily for my taste but it was incredibly moist although it was not the yellow color that i was looking for it turned out very dark but i think that was because of the orange juice. it tasted great but i thought the orange was to subtle, next time i'll use a regular yellow cake recipe with orange extract. not very impressed since the cakes fell in the middle too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States