Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
This recipe was Great. I used it for my brother-in-law's birthday, who is lactose intolerant and he loved it, as did the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I will never use box cake mix again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Although I read all the reviews I decided NOT to add the flour that it seemed liked it needed and just decided to go with the recipe as it was written. It was great!! This was a very moist, sticky yellow cake with some orange zest. It was great as is. It looks a little funny baking... the middle gets done quicker but it is great as is.. wait it out! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clare, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Fantastic, this is absolutely delicious. I only had 3 eggs so the cake is a kinda crumbly around the edges. I also ran out of oil so the measuring cup was just one level (I'm guessing 1/8c less) below 1c. Also I used 1c o.j. (to make up for the other deficiencies) I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
I used this recipe to make a pineapple upside-down cake, so I replaced the orange juice with pineapple juice. It turned out fairly bland even with the added pineapple and brown sugar topping. I think I'll keep looking for a good yellow cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
For purpose of making a pineapple cake i used unsweetened apple sauce and place of oil. i thought it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Knowles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gardner, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
My family loved the cake. I foolwed the recipe except for the orange juice, I sub. it with lemon juice. Great recipe. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gaby Richmond-Reck

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Was looking for a yellow cake recipe because all I had was chocolate cake mix in my pantry. This is a keeper. A moist tasty sponge that took little longer to prepare than cake mix. I followed other reviewers that reduced the oil to 2/3 c, sugar to 1-1/2 c and orange juice to 1/2 c (thanks). I made 2 dozen cupcakes -- baked them in 2 batches for 25 mins each time. Next time I'll put them in for 20 mins as the tops are not very soft when they cool if they're too brown. I melted 1 cup of white chocolate chips with 1 tsp of shortening in the microwave and when cooled, spooned this in a ziplock bag, cut a little hole in it and drizzled this over the cupcakes. This was not only easier then making frosting, but emphasized the tastiness of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Horrible Big waste of time and money. Just don't do it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This cake didn't taste good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States