Yellow Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I poured the batter from this recipe over fresh peaches and made "Peach Cobbler". It was amazing. I'll always make it this way now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Excellent flavor! Pretty moist - it goes really well with Magnolia's Vanilla Buttercream Frosting found in "More From Magnolia."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Very nice cake, very moist and tasted very good. Made just as recipe called and didn't have any problems. Top with fruit for a nice dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I needed a basic yellow cake recipe to convert to a coconut cake because I hated all the recipes I found for coconut cake. This one worked amazing! I used cream of cocunut in place of the orange juice and topped it with a buttercream made with cream of coconut instead of milk and added flaked coconut to the top. It was amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I have made this cake about a dozen times, and it turns out great every time. It's super easy, I always have the ingredients on hand, and it's best WITHOUT FROSTING! Not to be used as a decorated cake! It has crispy edges and a wonderful flavor that reminds me of Nilla Wafer cookies. Honestly, just try it as the recipe is written and no frosting. Don't try to turn it out, leave it in a 9x13 pan. It's much to moist to turn out, or decorate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was quite sweet but was very good. My 13 year-old daughter made it by herself and, since we were out of orange juice (and she's a picky eater) we used water instead. She baked it in the giant Wilton cupcake pan and it made enough batter (very runny, as all have said) to fill both the top (frosting side) and the bottom (the cupcake part) of the pan. We'd make it again, but maybe add 1/2 c. less sugar. The outside had a nice chewy, crispy texture that made it similar to a quenelle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carissa S

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
this is an absolutley AMAZING cake!! i will admit i was worried when it was all mixed together because it looked so watery but it is an absolutley addicting cake. and tastes wonderful even without an icing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
It was fantastic and very moist. I had my doubts after reading some of the other comments, but I whole heartedly suggest that you give it a go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: South Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
The lady was right it does taste like eggs and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalyna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camdenton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I signed up with Allrecipes just so I could review this poor maligned recipe. I've made this twice, once with the OJ (though I diluted it slightly) and once with 1 tsp lemon extract in place of vanilla and 1/2 lemon juice, 1/2 water in place of the OJ. The batter is very runny, but it bakes up beautifully. Resist the temptation to add flour! I've used 2 9-inch rounds to make a layer cake. The texture is great and the flavor is delicious. Make sure to mix thoroughly for a few minutes to fully incorporate all of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States