Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2001
This cake reminds me of the ones my grandmother and aunts make. very delicious, indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
Loved the cake it was the best cake i have ever made from scratch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
I use this recipe for birthday cakes or other special occasions and its always a hit. I have some recommendations though which might help some of the others who weren't as happy with it as me. 1) I bake this cake in a water bath - place tin on cookie sheet (or other tin with high sides); fill larger tin with boiling water while baking. This ensures an extremely moist cake. 2) Line tin with parchment paper and grease with shortening - this definitely allows it to come out clean from the tin. 3) I like to add almond extract with the vanilla for a really nice subtle flavour. I've also frosted this with a vanilla (store bought) frosting and added ground almonds with sugar between layers or on top. Thanks very much for this recipe - definitely a keeper for me :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
This is a very flavorful cake. I've made this recipe three times. I, like others, have found the cake to be too dry. What made the difference for me was to separate the egg yolk and white before creaming, then adding the yolk last (before the flour & milk) I cooked mine for only 35 minutes and it came out perfect. My oven is a piece of junk so it could just be my oven :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2001
This is the best recipie for a yellow cake that I've ever tried! My husband and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2002
Excellent! Very easy and very tasty! It definitely isn't like the store mix but I think it's really great for a from scratch recipe. I think I tried to make this one before but it turned out too dry. Made it this time as cupcakes with a water bath and it turned out great. Very moist. Finally a good from scratch cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2002
I used this recipe when I made Rum Cake and was very pleased with the results. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumtaz Wangnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
This was the best tasting cake I have ever had! It was so much better then box mixes from the store. Home made is definitly better in this case! I made about 24 cupcakes using this recipe and it was soo flavorful and wasn't dry at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
THIS THE BEST CAKE RECIPE I EVER TRIED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
I made this cake for a guy I was enamored with at Valentine's Day. The cake itself was moist and smelled excellent. Although I never got a slice, he said it was great. So, I give this five stars. It was pretty easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 265) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States