Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
Made this recipe for the first time today... I followed the directions exactly EXCEPT I made it into a peach upside-down cake. It turned out very well. The cake itself is a little dry...but it works well with the peach/brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
DRY and DENSE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Susan Barnard
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Easy to make, no need to separate eggs or waste egg whites like some of the other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Barnard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very tasty, moist, fluffy, and not too sweet cake. I tried to make a cupcakes, but made the mistake of over filling the cup. DO NOT FILL MORE THAN HALF WAY. I got about 35 reasonably sized cupcakes out of the second batch. I made homemade chocolate and white frosting. YUM! Will make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
for making cupcake the cake stuck to the liners
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this cake for my son's birthday. It was not edible! I questioned using that much baking powder, but did it any way based on the reviews. My son took one bite and spit it out. It was GROSS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This cake was really dry and not flavorful at all. The baking time was way too long the cake was overcooked. Maybe it was me because everyone else seemed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Loved it!!!!! Have made it 4 times with all types of options. If you make layers, just cut back on the cooking time. If you make the 9x13, then bake at the time listed. I also cut back on my baking powder to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
spongy moist purrfect..take ur time beating the sugar butter mix..results are amazing ..i baked in two - 9 inch rounds pans at 170degree celsius for 28 minutes... substituted shortening for butter..and sifted the flour and then measured..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Most soft moist and fluffy cake... substituted shortening for unsalted butter... made it for my hubby for valentines day... good base for other cakes.. added an extra ingredient - choco chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States