Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
Great basic recipe. I use butter instead of shortening, equal amounts. Turns out great every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna Cole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I just made this and followed the Recipe but it came out looking like cornbread and tasting like egg. Next time I will reduce the egg, add 2cups of sugar, coconut oil instead of butter/grease and use buttermilk instead. It came out a little dry but maybe because the recipe calls for 45 mins in oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Total fail
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Wasnt very tasty, Also quite dry, BUT i think it over-cooked- I only baked it for 25min & it was dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A easy but delicious cake! i made cookie dough cupcakes and cooked them at 350 for 25 minutes. they came out light and fluffy even though i was worried about the amount of baking powder. definetely would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvvcooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Cake was flat and dry. Had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great Cake I would definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very Good Yellow Cake recipie. I used it to make a character cake. I also use butter instead of shortening. Made it taste better to me. Will use again. I asked a couple of pple how they liked it and only one person said it was not moist enough.. But everybody else loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
After reading the reviews I used only 2 teaspoons of baking soda, and I was careful to sift the flour. I also used 1 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup margrine. It turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again! Next time I am going to try cake flour to see if I can skip the sifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa boop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this! Worst cake I have ever tasted and trust me, I've tasted the good, the bad, and the ugly. I followed all of the diredtions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States