Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
A easy but delicious cake! i made cookie dough cupcakes and cooked them at 350 for 25 minutes. they came out light and fluffy even though i was worried about the amount of baking powder. definetely would make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvvcooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Cake was flat and dry. Had to throw it away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Great Cake I would definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Very Good Yellow Cake recipie. I used it to make a character cake. I also use butter instead of shortening. Made it taste better to me. Will use again. I asked a couple of pple how they liked it and only one person said it was not moist enough.. But everybody else loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
After reading the reviews I used only 2 teaspoons of baking soda, and I was careful to sift the flour. I also used 1 1/2 cup Splenda and 1/2 cup sugar, and 1/4 cup shortening and 1/4 cup margrine. It turned out great! I will definitely use this recipe again! Next time I am going to try cake flour to see if I can skip the sifting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
I did not care for this! Worst cake I have ever tasted and trust me, I've tasted the good, the bad, and the ugly. I followed all of the diredtions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
I normally make cookies but was short on cash to buy a cake so i started to look up how to make a cake from scratch and came across this recipe. had all the ingredients that it listed and decided to try it. this was my first time makeing cake from scratch. it came out delicouse. came out fnn delicouse even my wife was impressed. the only thing was that it fell apart when we ate it. i think i cooked it to long. i live in south texas so the next time i make it ill put it for less time and let you know how it comes out. unless anyone can help me out and tell me wha i did wrong i really appreciate it. thank you until nxt time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I tried to make cupcakes, they didn't bake uniformly, many were doughy. I thought it may have been old baking powder so I tried again with new powder but the same results, they puffed up too big for muffin pan then flatten out. Maybe it would work better in a cake pan. Don't think I will bother though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
Great recipe- very easy! cupcakes we made are light and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Easy to make. Stuck to the recipe and my cake did not fall. Very fluffy and delicious!! Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States