Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Much better than the Wilton basic yellow cake recipe! The only changes I made, was I used baking soda as I was out of baking powder after a weeks worth of Wilton thud brick cakes, and then to counter the saltiness of the baking soda, I added about 1/4 more sugar to the mix and baked in a water bath in the oven at 325 in convection mode. What I got was the most spectacularly soft and moist and fluffy cake! It was amazing! For those who are getting dense cakes or cornbread like cakes, beat your shortening or butter and eggs more to make it lighter and fluffier and presift your flour. It makes a ton of difference. You really can't do wrong with this cake recipe. If it's not turning out, it's operator error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
Baking time is WAY too long. I bake a lot and found this recipe because I was needing something with fewer ingredients than what I usually make. This has potential if you make a few changes however next time I'm out of buttermilk I think I'll just try one of the other higher rated yellow cake recipes on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe has way too much salt! Next time I try this recipe I'll use a dash of salt. The cake turned out perfectly brown but not tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this yesterday for a Valentine cake for a 97-year old dear man. Trusted the reviews that if I sifted my flour (ALWAYS sift flour, pre-sifted or not), thoroughly creamed the shortening mix before adding the flour mix, and measured and mixed accurately, it would turn out tasty with a nice crumb and not fall in the middle. Fail. It fell in the middle, so that crumb was dense, had a rather large crumb around the non-fallen edges, and tasted okay as long as it was accompanied by the sweet cream cheese frosting I spread on it. Pretty disappointing. The cake alone, was dry and not very sweet. Still looking for trusty, basic cake recipes instead of using mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaMyst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Super moist cake. I followed the directions as they were written and I also beat the mixture for a long time (I let it beat for the whole process and a little extra while I greased the pan) It's probably important to get a lot of air in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious I would most likely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this cake a few times, tried different methods as recommended, but yet the cake still caves always! it taste nice but i only make it for my kids, couldn't decorate it unfortunately. still looking for a good birthday cake recipe sigh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Aguirre Burton

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found it a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the first time I made a cake without Uncle Duncan or Aunt Betty's help. It still had a little baking powder taste but the chocolate frosting covered that up easily. If you follow the instruction, I don't see how other came out with cornbread like cake. Mine came out very moist and not too sweet. So thanks for helping me on my journey of scratch baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This batter is so delicious and especially for making cupcakes. I had to make 60 of them for a Halloween Party and the batter is so moist and better than any box mix. One tip, make sure if you are using all purpose flour even though it has baking powder in it to use baking powder anyway this makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Rivera

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States