Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
This recipe has way too much salt! Next time I try this recipe I'll use a dash of salt. The cake turned out perfectly brown but not tasty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Made this yesterday for a Valentine cake for a 97-year old dear man. Trusted the reviews that if I sifted my flour (ALWAYS sift flour, pre-sifted or not), thoroughly creamed the shortening mix before adding the flour mix, and measured and mixed accurately, it would turn out tasty with a nice crumb and not fall in the middle. Fail. It fell in the middle, so that crumb was dense, had a rather large crumb around the non-fallen edges, and tasted okay as long as it was accompanied by the sweet cream cheese frosting I spread on it. Pretty disappointing. The cake alone, was dry and not very sweet. Still looking for trusty, basic cake recipes instead of using mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaMyst

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Super moist cake. I followed the directions as they were written and I also beat the mixture for a long time (I let it beat for the whole process and a little extra while I greased the pan) It's probably important to get a lot of air in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
Delicious I would most likely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: New Port Richey, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I made this cake a few times, tried different methods as recommended, but yet the cake still caves always! it taste nice but i only make it for my kids, couldn't decorate it unfortunately. still looking for a good birthday cake recipe sigh...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I found it a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This is the first time I made a cake without Uncle Duncan or Aunt Betty's help. It still had a little baking powder taste but the chocolate frosting covered that up easily. If you follow the instruction, I don't see how other came out with cornbread like cake. Mine came out very moist and not too sweet. So thanks for helping me on my journey of scratch baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
This batter is so delicious and especially for making cupcakes. I had to make 60 of them for a Halloween Party and the batter is so moist and better than any box mix. One tip, make sure if you are using all purpose flour even though it has baking powder in it to use baking powder anyway this makes a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bunnychicka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is such a wonderful cake. Is so versatile. I use pineapple juice instead of milk and butter instead of shortening and I melt butter (2 TBSP) in cake pan and add brown sugar then put crushed pineapple over the brown sugar. I pour cake batter over that. It is such a hit at my daughter's job and for my family..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Valley View, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
WAY to flour-y! Also, baking time for me was 35 minutes. I made 6 cupcakes and a 9x9 cake... both were a little on the dense side. The cupcakes more so, because they're smaller and less concentrated. Also, I cut the baking powder to 2 teaspoons instead of 3 1/2. That sounded a little too much! Overall, I would make again with some minor adjustments. Did make the house smell AMAZING however- always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States