Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This is such a wonderful cake. Is so versatile. I use pineapple juice instead of milk and butter instead of shortening and I melt butter (2 TBSP) in cake pan and add brown sugar then put crushed pineapple over the brown sugar. I pour cake batter over that. It is such a hit at my daughter's job and for my family..thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Valley View, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
WAY to flour-y! Also, baking time for me was 35 minutes. I made 6 cupcakes and a 9x9 cake... both were a little on the dense side. The cupcakes more so, because they're smaller and less concentrated. Also, I cut the baking powder to 2 teaspoons instead of 3 1/2. That sounded a little too much! Overall, I would make again with some minor adjustments. Did make the house smell AMAZING however- always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
Great recipe!! So easy to follow, but I made the mistake of adding 3-1/2 cups of sugar instead of 1-1/2 cups.. Oh no you say.. Well I fixed my mistake by adding an extra 1/2 cup of flour, one 3oz package of jello lime flavor gelatin, an extra tablepoon of vanilla, lemon & pineapple extract.. Made cupcakes instead of a cake. Added orange frosting, and design them with candy corn, white chocolate with peanut butter chips. Wow and they were a big hit at my son's school Halloween bake sale!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I followed the directions for this cake exactly. The cake tasted fine. It was a little dense (which was not a problem) But it stuck horribly to my pan! I had to "glue" it together with icing. The end result was okay, but I won't be using this for a cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
This cake was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
I love this Recipe ! The cake came out perfect ...I also was hesitant of using this recipe but once i gave it a shot and made it it was Moist and delicious !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This recipe came out excellent. I did substitute butter for half of the shortening and I also substituted self-rising flour for all-purpose floor. I left out the baking powder. Batter tasted wonderful and cake came out great. It rose wonderfully and smelled great topped with chocolate icing wow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
I found this cake really dry, however my family loved it. I'm not sure if I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I am a cake baker and this cake fell apart before I even got it out of the pan. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I made this cake a few days ago.. it came about a bit course like corn muffins it wasn't moist i followed the recipe exactly. it smelt very eggy as well i was a bit dissapointed with this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefDeshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States