Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I followed the recipe but substituted the shortening for butter. Came out delicious and subbed vanilla for lemon extract, had lemon cake and the the family loved This time switched out vanilla for almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
YUM YUM YUM!!! I don't understand all the negative things said about this cake. I was keeping my fingers crossed while it baked. I used a bundt pan and cooked it a tad longer.Followed directions as shown. It came out perfect! I took one bite and the taste lingered. I almost wanted to skip dinner lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a versatile recipe. By subbing in different extracts or flavor oil you have a new cake each time. I typically don't use shortening but margarine and butter have both worked fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I creamed the shortening and sugar very thoroughly, sifted the dry ingredients before adding them (just as the recipe instructed), and baked the cake for only 35 minutes. However, we still found this cake to be a bit dry and lacking in taste. I made chocolate frosting using Hershey's Cocoa, which helped to redeem the cake. Perhaps using butter instead of shortening would help, but I don't know that I'll give it another try. I'll probably just go back to the ease of box mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyP

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a somewhat dense cake but with good flavor and not too sweet. Although I think it may come out a little too heavy for my liking for regular cake use, I thought it was perfect for pineapple upside-down cake. I liked that it wasn't too sweet as pineapple upside-down cakes tend to be over-sweet. Also I think the denseness of this cake is more suitable to pineapple upside down cakes. For my cake I used butter instead of shortening, and added about a half cup of pineapple juice which may have added to the denseness, so when I try it again as a regular cake it may be a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Delicious! At first i was worried due to the reviews, since i read them while my cake was baking, but after tasting it, absolutely incredible. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have it in the oven now for my first attempt at this recipe but I have to question the 40 min. cook time. That seems like way too much time. I also used lemon instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Made this into cupcakes, made about 16. This cake tastes great even without icing! Happy to find a good scratch recipe. I use my own hens eggs and they are extra large so I only used 2 and that was fine. Making Boston Cream Cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
my nephew and I love this recipe. we use it to make cupcakes all the time. Quick and easy to make. Very yummy...we give this five stars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Not very light and fluffy. Will keep looking for a good yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya Songer Bryant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States