Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This was a somewhat dense cake but with good flavor and not too sweet. Although I think it may come out a little too heavy for my liking for regular cake use, I thought it was perfect for pineapple upside-down cake. I liked that it wasn't too sweet as pineapple upside-down cakes tend to be over-sweet. Also I think the denseness of this cake is more suitable to pineapple upside down cakes. For my cake I used butter instead of shortening, and added about a half cup of pineapple juice which may have added to the denseness, so when I try it again as a regular cake it may be a little fluffier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Delicious! At first i was worried due to the reviews, since i read them while my cake was baking, but after tasting it, absolutely incredible. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2013
I have it in the oven now for my first attempt at this recipe but I have to question the 40 min. cook time. That seems like way too much time. I also used lemon instead of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Made this into cupcakes, made about 16. This cake tastes great even without icing! Happy to find a good scratch recipe. I use my own hens eggs and they are extra large so I only used 2 and that was fine. Making Boston Cream Cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
my nephew and I love this recipe. we use it to make cupcakes all the time. Quick and easy to make. Very yummy...we give this five stars :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
Not very light and fluffy. Will keep looking for a good yellow cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanaya Songer Bryant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very dry and dense but not in a good way. Not worth the cost of ingredients, the time to make it or the time at the gym to burn it off. I am an experienced baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
loved the mix. Cook it often for my family once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I am so glad that I made this cake,just love it...I was so proud of myself .I followed exactly the recipe given and it turned out super moist and fluffy almost like pound cake....mmmmm yummy..used butter icing....more Onolicious...I baked another one and make Lamingtonton cake out of it...and it worked really well...so thank you for this recipe I will definitely pass on this easy recipe to my kids...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Much better than the Wilton basic yellow cake recipe! The only changes I made, was I used baking soda as I was out of baking powder after a weeks worth of Wilton thud brick cakes, and then to counter the saltiness of the baking soda, I added about 1/4 more sugar to the mix and baked in a water bath in the oven at 325 in convection mode. What I got was the most spectacularly soft and moist and fluffy cake! It was amazing! For those who are getting dense cakes or cornbread like cakes, beat your shortening or butter and eggs more to make it lighter and fluffier and presift your flour. It makes a ton of difference. You really can't do wrong with this cake recipe. If it's not turning out, it's operator error.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States