Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Yes the recipe was easy to follow and the cake was delicious.. my grandsons loved it.. Will make another cake soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very dry. Not much of a yellow cake. I make scratch cakes all the time and i think a box mix would have been more moist. I would knock 5 minutes off the time to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma Barb
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The flavor is good ~ the cake was not as fluffy as a box cake mix. Moist & dense with a crusty edge ~ which my fiance enjoyed. Used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening. Also 1/4 cup less sugar and 1/2 t. less baking powder. Do sift the flour first & then spoon it lightly into your measuring cup for accurate amount. Beat with electric mixer for about 2 minutes when all the ingredients are added/as with box cake for air to incorporate. Only needed 35 minutes baking time. We definitely LOVED this cake which I 'iced' with a homemade Hersheys recipe for Chocolate Mousse...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Made this cake and it was SENSATIONAL!!! My husband loved it so much and the kids that I will be doing this recipe often!!!! It was a major hit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milena Michaelidis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
made this cake yesterday, was super easy and excellent with chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It really tasted like a huge muffin. They were dry and we even cut the cooking time in half. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I was a little worried about trying this recipe because of some of the reviews but I'm glad I did. It was nowhere near dense and I didn't even sift the flour. Definitely using this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I just made this recipe. It gave me a 9 inch cake and a pie pan sized cake. For years I have been putting off making a cake from scratch but this recipe (along with all the reviews I read) really made me feel confident in my abilities. Here are some things I did that the recipe did not: I used a fourth less flour and whisked my dry ingredients thoroughly. I used only 2 tps of baking powder and a 1/2 tps of salt. I also used 1 cup of honey butter melted and poured into the sugar which i beat with electric mixer I used egg whites and saved the yolks for very last. I then added a 1/2 of a cup of flour to ever 1/4 cup of milk every time and beat that in until all the flour and milk was gone and the batter well beat, I then added my vanilla, and eggs yolks beat them in and then stirred in some chocolate chips. I baked it at 350 for 35 minutes and no longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I tried it and it was delivious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I've only ever made cakes from boxes and never from scratch. I wanted to try making a cake from scratch but most recipes I found called for cake flour. With no $ to get that I found this recipe. Despite my baking powder being outdated the cake came out fluffy and evenly baked just as the directions said. Only thing I found lacking was that even with the vanilla the cake seemed to have no flavor at all. The cream cheese frosting I put on top had a million times more flavor than this cake. Otherwise turned out pretty good for my first attempt at a cake from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States