Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried this, and im sorry but i will probably never make this again. it was dry for me, and i didnt enjoy the flavor at all. Sorry not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomOf4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Beatuful, delectable, easy, 5 stars! My friend and I needed a yummy cake to feed my family for the 4th of July party, so we chose this one. It was a hit! My grandmother is asking me to make it again on her birthday. I do have to say, I ran out of milk so we used the same amount of half and half and it still turned out great! Definetly will be using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Really simple to make. Had a nice flavour and texture. Gave 4 stars because it didn't rise as high as I would have liked. Also used butter for better flavour. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Cake exploded in my oven. Was my first try at baking cake from scratch, this is not the recipe to use when baking from scratch for the first time apparently. If it is your first try baking a cake without a box, don't let the "easy" description fool you. I re-read the recipie and followed it to a T and still had the cake explode and collapse on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
This cake was amazingly moist....almost too moist to get out of the tins in one piece. I forgot to line with parchment paper so I got a little sticking on the bottom even though I greased and floured. I made it twice and tried both the baking powder recommendations. I didn't notice much difference in the taste. I also cooked it less then the recommended time (my oven cooks hot). Used it with The Barefoot Contessa's Chocolate Buttercream frosting (to die for) and topped it with yellow peeps lining the edges and choc chips in the middle to make a sunflower cake. Loved it so much I made a batch up cupcakes to follow it up. MMM MMM good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
good flavor and it didn't collapse, only reason why it got two stars. Very crumby and dry. Many people compared it to sweet cornbread?! I will not use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Milwaukie, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I baked this cake for my 24th birthday. I have never baked a cake from scratch before, but this one was SO easy! After reading the reviews, I was a little skeptical. I certainly didn't want a rock hard cake. But, even without the use of a mixer, I found it to come out perfectly. The baking time was right on, and it came out golden, moist and only slightly more dense than a box cake. Because I wanted something a little different, I added lemon zest and fresh squeezed lemon juice. I also substituted butter for the shortening. I really can't say enough about this cake. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. This was the first time I ever made a yellow cake from scratch and it got rave reviews. It was easy to cut into layers and it was easy to frost without breaking or crumbling. I transported it to a few different places and it held up great. I did find that refrigerating it dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Not bad, followed the directions exactly since this is the first time I have ever made a cake from scratch, the middle fell in and it had a sort of cornbread taste and texture to it, but fortunately my family loves cornbread, so not a complete waste LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 131-140 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States