Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Not the best, but not the worst. It was pretty good. BUT the shortening gave it a bit of a strange taste. But i did find out it works great as the yellow cake for pineapple upside down cake:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I loved it! I thought I did something wrong-- it was a very liquidy batter. I added 2 tsps of flour to give it some more texture, then I added about 1/4 cup of brownie mix to make it chocolately. It's a large cake, and it's very moist. Totally saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My 3 year old & I just made this cake. We followed the recipe exactly, except we added 1/2 tsp more vanilla. We had fun counting while we gradually added the flour - we started with only 4 scoops, then mixed, added a little milk, etc until we were up to 12 scoops - and it looked really nice and fluffy. I wondered how it would turn out (esp with a 3 yr old helping ;). We only baked it 25 min, checked it & gave it another 5 min and it was perfect. Her little sister woke up from nap right as it was coming out of the oven, perfect snack! We ALL thought it was great! Not too dry at all! Just take your time to beat in each egg well & to add in that flour & milk alternately & gradually. But I do think if it would have baked it even a few more minutes it would have been too dry. I'm definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I altered this a bit and got sensational results: 1) I used vegetable oil instead of shortening 2) I ran out of milk so i mixed 1/2 cup of 1% milk with water 3) I used 2 jumbo eggs instead of 3 4) I used 3 tsp baking powder 5) I live in Chicago (for altitude reference) and it only took 25 minutes in (2) 9-inch baking pans to bake The result is a slightly moist, robust cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My daughter made this cake and I was expecting it to be a total disaster or success. And to my delight it was a success! It was really easy to make and tasted delicious. I would recommend this to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried this, and im sorry but i will probably never make this again. it was dry for me, and i didnt enjoy the flavor at all. Sorry not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomOf4

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Beatuful, delectable, easy, 5 stars! My friend and I needed a yummy cake to feed my family for the 4th of July party, so we chose this one. It was a hit! My grandmother is asking me to make it again on her birthday. I do have to say, I ran out of milk so we used the same amount of half and half and it still turned out great! Definetly will be using this recipe again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Really simple to make. Had a nice flavour and texture. Gave 4 stars because it didn't rise as high as I would have liked. Also used butter for better flavour. Worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Cake exploded in my oven. Was my first try at baking cake from scratch, this is not the recipe to use when baking from scratch for the first time apparently. If it is your first try baking a cake without a box, don't let the "easy" description fool you. I re-read the recipie and followed it to a T and still had the cake explode and collapse on me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States