Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good, but too sweet, more like cookie sweet, lol, but it was moist and fluffy. I used 3/4 butter and 1/4 oil. I ran out of eggs so I use egg substitute and it still was yummy, kids loved them, I'll make it again when I want a fast and eazy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdgd21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is exactly what i was looking for. I however started to make the recipe and realized i had no shortening so I used a half cup of butter and added 1/4 cup sour cream. Three days later and still moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ma_of2buckaroos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Very Dry I did not like this cake recipes I am not good at makeing cakes from scratch but this one was very bad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Greenleaf09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I used this recipe to make a pineapple upside down and it was excellent! I followed the recipe exactly, sifting the dry ingredients as someone suggested. This is definately a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBGREY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cannelton, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The cake was very fluffy. I enjoyed the texture. However, it was too sweet. I baked it again and cut down on the sugar, and I enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It tasted like sweet cornbread and was NOT light an airy. It was DENSE DENSE DENSE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstarlings23

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Galloway, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is a good cake base. You just have to play with the ingredients. I used 2 teaspoons of baking powder instead of 3, oil in place of shortening (it is a cake after all), and because I love vanilla, I used a tablespoon instead. I also am a little heavy handed with greasing the pan so not only was the cake more flavorful and moist with my changes, it popped out of the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweetness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bucksport, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Dry, dense, and flavorless. Will not make again. I could feel how dry it was as soon as it cooled and decided to get the frosting on it and let it sit for a day under a cake dome hoping that would help. It didn't. The worse part was it was brought to a family gathering where the only one who ate a piece was my husband. Which doesn't say much, since he'll eat anything if it has chocolate slapped on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
This cake has a good flavor, but mine came out dry. I'm not sure I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The only change I made to the recipe was using oil because butter/shortening is really expensive here in China. The cake was soft, moist and tasty -- very easy to make! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pillowtrot

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States