Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I baked this cake for my 24th birthday. I have never baked a cake from scratch before, but this one was SO easy! After reading the reviews, I was a little skeptical. I certainly didn't want a rock hard cake. But, even without the use of a mixer, I found it to come out perfectly. The baking time was right on, and it came out golden, moist and only slightly more dense than a box cake. Because I wanted something a little different, I added lemon zest and fresh squeezed lemon juice. I also substituted butter for the shortening. I really can't say enough about this cake. I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. This was the first time I ever made a yellow cake from scratch and it got rave reviews. It was easy to cut into layers and it was easy to frost without breaking or crumbling. I transported it to a few different places and it held up great. I did find that refrigerating it dried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Not bad, followed the directions exactly since this is the first time I have ever made a cake from scratch, the middle fell in and it had a sort of cornbread taste and texture to it, but fortunately my family loves cornbread, so not a complete waste LOL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
did everything it said, but my dad actually mistook it for cornbread and so did I! Nice effort but i'll have to give it a b-. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
This was exactly what i was looking for and it worked beautifully. I needed an easy sheet cake for my son's birthday for school and this was simple and looked wonderful. I didnt get a chance to taste it but the kids and teacher said it was fab!! Iced it simply with butter icing and lots of smarties and sprinkles - thank you, this will be used again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
i made it and the middle completely fell through and didnt cook at all. i kept putting it in and in and it wasnt cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LeeAnne524
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
Yummy.... I made this and it came out wonderful..I used oil instead of butter and added chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnne524

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Yum Yum! this cake was great! It turned out super moist and really tasty! It was for my hubby's birthday and he's not a fan of chocolate, which put me in a perdiciment :o Anyway, the only thing was I made it in 2 cake tins and the middle collapsed a bit, lol but it could be because there was too much cake mix in the tins after doubling the recipe. But will definately make it again! Thank you ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Really good, but too sweet, more like cookie sweet, lol, but it was moist and fluffy. I used 3/4 butter and 1/4 oil. I ran out of eggs so I use egg substitute and it still was yummy, kids loved them, I'll make it again when I want a fast and eazy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdgd21

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
This is exactly what i was looking for. I however started to make the recipe and realized i had no shortening so I used a half cup of butter and added 1/4 cup sour cream. Three days later and still moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ma_of2buckaroos

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States