Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I had a box of Coconut pudding and thought it might be good in a cake. I just wanted a plain cake recipe. This one worked! I added the coconut pudding and some chopped pineapple to the batter, then topped with whipped topping after cool. It was good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Very tasting and simple to make. I wanted a simple yellow cake to use to make pineapple upside down cake. And I wanted to use organic ingredients. I don't ever use shortening due to the GMO's in it so I used butter in place of that. And due to prior reviews I used only 2 tsps of baking powder. This cake cooked up nice, light and yummy. The family was raving about it when I served it for dessert. Thanks the poster for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa B.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
I've been baking cakes for about two months, but i use the box cakes. But for my little cousins baptism i decided to try making one from scratch. (i thought it would be cheaper since its for about 50 people) so i decided to try it before actually making the real thing. It was way better then i thought it would be. The only changes i did were instead of 3 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder, i used 2 1/2. I also didnt have any vanilla, so i skipped that this time. But it was still amazing super moist and very fluffy. i followed other people's advice and baked it for 30 minutes instead of the 45 it said. maybe that is why it comes out dry for others. anyways, I will definitely be using this cake for the baptism this weekend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Not the best, but not the worst. It was pretty good. BUT the shortening gave it a bit of a strange taste. But i did find out it works great as the yellow cake for pineapple upside down cake:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I loved it! I thought I did something wrong-- it was a very liquidy batter. I added 2 tsps of flour to give it some more texture, then I added about 1/4 cup of brownie mix to make it chocolately. It's a large cake, and it's very moist. Totally saving this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
My 3 year old & I just made this cake. We followed the recipe exactly, except we added 1/2 tsp more vanilla. We had fun counting while we gradually added the flour - we started with only 4 scoops, then mixed, added a little milk, etc until we were up to 12 scoops - and it looked really nice and fluffy. I wondered how it would turn out (esp with a 3 yr old helping ;). We only baked it 25 min, checked it & gave it another 5 min and it was perfect. Her little sister woke up from nap right as it was coming out of the oven, perfect snack! We ALL thought it was great! Not too dry at all! Just take your time to beat in each egg well & to add in that flour & milk alternately & gradually. But I do think if it would have baked it even a few more minutes it would have been too dry. I'm definitely keeping this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I altered this a bit and got sensational results: 1) I used vegetable oil instead of shortening 2) I ran out of milk so i mixed 1/2 cup of 1% milk with water 3) I used 2 jumbo eggs instead of 3 4) I used 3 tsp baking powder 5) I live in Chicago (for altitude reference) and it only took 25 minutes in (2) 9-inch baking pans to bake The result is a slightly moist, robust cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
My daughter made this cake and I was expecting it to be a total disaster or success. And to my delight it was a success! It was really easy to make and tasted delicious. I would recommend this to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I tried this, and im sorry but i will probably never make this again. it was dry for me, and i didnt enjoy the flavor at all. Sorry not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Just wasn't my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomOf4

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 111-120 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States