Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this cake for my son's birthday. It was not edible! I questioned using that much baking powder, but did it any way based on the reviews. My son took one bite and spit it out. It was GROSS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This cake was really dry and not flavorful at all. The baking time was way too long the cake was overcooked. Maybe it was me because everyone else seemed to love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Loved it!!!!! Have made it 4 times with all types of options. If you make layers, just cut back on the cooking time. If you make the 9x13, then bake at the time listed. I also cut back on my baking powder to 2 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
spongy moist purrfect..take ur time beating the sugar butter mix..results are amazing ..i baked in two - 9 inch rounds pans at 170degree celsius for 28 minutes... substituted shortening for butter..and sifted the flour and then measured..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Most soft moist and fluffy cake... substituted shortening for unsalted butter... made it for my hubby for valentines day... good base for other cakes.. added an extra ingredient - choco chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
this was my first attempt at making a cake from scratch, made it for my coworker's baby shower. the cake came out somewhat dense, but i think i overcooked it. the flavor is great and it was easy to make. i think next time i will make some adjustments on the bake time and perhaps add a water bath, but i was pleased that my first cake wasn't a complete disaster :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
It tasted like a scratch cake. I cut the baking powder and substituted the shortening. But i am a person that likes really sweet cake and icing, and this cake was good, just not sweet enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Please. Don't waste your ingredients on this awful thing. It wouldn't even qualify as cornbread. Are the reveiws for real about this so called cake? I'm a good cook and baking is my specialty. This is just plain awful. Don't go there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I used butter instead of shortening, and rice milk instead of regular milk (that's all I had and this was sort of a last second dessert idea..) It came out delicious! Very moist, simple cake that tastes great even without frosting. I used the recipe's amount of baking powder, and it took about 40 to 45 minutes to bake for me (and I'm at a very low altitude) so I'm not sure where others have had problems. My husband says I must make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Not a very good cake. It tastes more like a cornbread than a regular cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 284) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States