Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Easy, delicious and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
i use this recipe to make pineapple upside down cake :P i pour this batter as is over my pineapple butter & brown sugar mixture it's amazin'!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Very nice cake batter, very delicious. I used a cupcake pan, and baked it for about 16 minutes, it came out perfect, the tops of the cupcakes were kind of crispy, but sticky, which I thought was a nice touch. If you don't allow the batter to mix properly, then your finished product will not be enjoyable. I was pretty surprised that it was so good. Also made from-scratch lemon icing. It was an awesome recipe I will use again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I made this cake today and it is great! It is not as yellow as a 4 to 6 egg cake, but the taste is delicious! I used real butter vs shortening, and used 1 cup 00 italian flour and 1 cup all purpose (finer crumb, tender texture). I decreased the baking powder to 3 tsp and decreased the salt to 1/4 tsp (these are personal preferences). This is my go to cake recipe. My entire family loved it! UPDATE: I have made this cake 6 times since my original review and have found the following works best: room temp eggs, real butter straight from the fridge, room temp milk, sift the two flours together w/ the baking powder. cream the butter/sugar on med-high, add all 3 eggs at the same time and mix on the highest speed you have for 2 minutes, cut the speed all the way back to the lowest speed you have and just add the flour blend and milk at the same time. beat on the lowest speed until mixed (do not over mix). pour into prepped pan and bake ( I average 30 min...sometimes longer, sometimes less). This is my go to cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonysgdbg

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was really good. Not as yellow as I thought it would be, but very yummy. I made the cake in a loaf pan (2) and we ate them right out of the over, barely cool, that was how good they are. Will be making this one again and maybe even frost it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Rose Howell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This recipe is super easy & my family loved it! I also made homemade chocolate icing to top it off! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
Wow...so simple to make! It turned out spongy, fluffy, and just right! I turned the broiler on for the last 4 minutes to give it a great golden color and crisp. I only baked it for 30 mins, because I sifted the flour. I even added blueberries, which sunk a little and kept the middle even more juicy and yummy!!! LOVE this recipe, and WILL use again! Thank you muchly :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I needed a fairly simple recipe and this fit the bill. My kiddie taste testers thought it wasn't sweet enough, but when you pile on the icing (which we tend to do) I think they're plenty sweet. I used butter instead of shortening and only 2tsps of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twobabypaiks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Nice recipe and easy to make. Wasn't quite as moist as I'd hoped, but still nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
I loved this cake! It was fluffy and moist. Instead of making it as one big cake, I made my cake in individual ramekins. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingfool101

Cooking Level: Beginning


Displaying results 91-100 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States