Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
U got to adjust the recipes to u ovens all ovens don't bake the same u just have to play around till u find how it cooks best for u and all people's taste is not the same so make it work for u personally have a good day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Excellent, iced with a sweet butter cream icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYPMGMT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I did not like this recipe at all. I wanted yellow cake to make with my friends and once we cooked it, it was barely sweet at all and tasted just like corn bread. it was dry and crumply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by summarah
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We made gluten-free cupcakes using Pillsbury's new Gluten-Free multipurpose flour blend. They're delicious!!! Everyone loves them. I subbed half butter for the shortening, and baked in lined cups for about 20 minutes. Finally, gluten-free cake that doesn't weigh like 80 lbs. Very light. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I followed the instruction to a t. It turned out awful. The taste wasn't all that bad but the texture was like what i imagine eating a sponge would be like. It burned very easily to the side of my pan. Like literally within the first 15-20 minutes. Maybe i did something wrong. I dont think i did but theres always that chance. I will not be trying this recipe again and i will not be recommending it to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Brummitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have used this cake recipe for my baking business it's a hit ! Didn't change a thing very moist and fluffy. Don't be shy give it a try promise you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia Abel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I halved the recipe, baked it in a 9" round cake pan, and it was perfect at 30 minutes of baking. It rose great, is soft and springy, and smells perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This recipe was most delicious. The texture was very good. I halved the recipe, used it to make a pineapple mandarin upside down 9x9 cake and cut the baking time to 20 minutes. Also, I used egg substitute to cut down on cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I tried this cake recipe as a test run to begin teaching my friend to bake. Not only did this cake turn out very well, but it required very little ingredients, most of which are things i would have around my house anyways. It is confusing that people are complaining of the cake turning out dry or collapsing, these sound like issues of people that are actually paying too much attention to the recipe. Never trust bake times. just check it yourself. My bake time was a little bit longer than the recipe suggested. This recipe was easy, and tasty. Well done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I made this cake for the 1st time last night (along with an improvised, home-made cream cheese chocolate frosting) and it came out great. Like other users, I used butter instead of shortening. It came out looking exactly like every box cake I've ever made. It was not dry or dense. Then again, I took the time to follow the directions exactly. (grin) Yes, it's faster and easier to just make it all in one bowl or to throw all of the eggs in at once, etc but you won't get the same results. Follow the directions EXACTLY. Every step DOES make a difference in how your finished product will come out. You really need to add, mix, add, mix, add, mix as described or you'll end up with a saw dust tasting brick. In addition to doing the slow add/mix with the eggs, I also did that while adding the flour mix and milk. I added 1/3 of each in turn between mixings. My finished product was suitably light, tasted good and was very moist. Instead of the pan size suggested, I used 3 small square pans (as I love the frosting to cake ratio of 3 layer cakes) and baked it on the middle over rack for about 20 minutes on 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States