Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Delicious so tender, made them into cupcakes I subsist used the milk for buttermilk. My whole family ate them in 2 seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
First time I have made a cake from scratch and this turned out perfect for my upside down pineapple cake. I followed Tonysgdbg suggestions and used the ingredient at room temperature except for the butter which I substituted for the shortening. Very moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
this recipe is now my staple for yellow cake! it is wonderful and very simple. idk what went wrong with the people that gave this bad reviews... I added a bit more vanilla and it took it through the roof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
U got to adjust the recipes to u ovens all ovens don't bake the same u just have to play around till u find how it cooks best for u and all people's taste is not the same so make it work for u personally have a good day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Excellent, iced with a sweet butter cream icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYPMGMT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I did not like this recipe at all. I wanted yellow cake to make with my friends and once we cooked it, it was barely sweet at all and tasted just like corn bread. it was dry and crumply.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by summarah
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
We made gluten-free cupcakes using Pillsbury's new Gluten-Free multipurpose flour blend. They're delicious!!! Everyone loves them. I subbed half butter for the shortening, and baked in lined cups for about 20 minutes. Finally, gluten-free cake that doesn't weigh like 80 lbs. Very light. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I followed the instruction to a t. It turned out awful. The taste wasn't all that bad but the texture was like what i imagine eating a sponge would be like. It burned very easily to the side of my pan. Like literally within the first 15-20 minutes. Maybe i did something wrong. I dont think i did but theres always that chance. I will not be trying this recipe again and i will not be recommending it to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Brummitt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I have used this cake recipe for my baking business it's a hit ! Didn't change a thing very moist and fluffy. Don't be shy give it a try promise you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gia Abel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I halved the recipe, baked it in a 9" round cake pan, and it was perfect at 30 minutes of baking. It rose great, is soft and springy, and smells perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chicaD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States