Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I have tried a lot of recipes for traditional yellow cake, this one is the best I have tried yet. Great Job!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
My sister and I tried making this from scratch, but it was definitely not what we thought. We followed the recipe exactly as it's posted except for the time, we baked it for 30 mins. Well the cake came out very dense not moist and of all it had a taste exactly like Cornbread. Not gonna be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Yes the recipe was easy to follow and the cake was delicious.. my grandsons loved it.. Will make another cake soon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
Very dry. Not much of a yellow cake. I make scratch cakes all the time and i think a box mix would have been more moist. I would knock 5 minutes off the time to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Grandma Barb
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
The flavor is good ~ the cake was not as fluffy as a box cake mix. Moist & dense with a crusty edge ~ which my fiance enjoyed. Used 1/4 cup butter and 1/4 cup shortening. Also 1/4 cup less sugar and 1/2 t. less baking powder. Do sift the flour first & then spoon it lightly into your measuring cup for accurate amount. Beat with electric mixer for about 2 minutes when all the ingredients are added/as with box cake for air to incorporate. Only needed 35 minutes baking time. We definitely LOVED this cake which I 'iced' with a homemade Hersheys recipe for Chocolate Mousse...excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brighton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Made this cake and it was SENSATIONAL!!! My husband loved it so much and the kids that I will be doing this recipe often!!!! It was a major hit!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
made this cake yesterday, was super easy and excellent with chocolate frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
It really tasted like a huge muffin. They were dry and we even cut the cooking time in half. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I was a little worried about trying this recipe because of some of the reviews but I'm glad I did. It was nowhere near dense and I didn't even sift the flour. Definitely using this again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I just made this recipe. It gave me a 9 inch cake and a pie pan sized cake. For years I have been putting off making a cake from scratch but this recipe (along with all the reviews I read) really made me feel confident in my abilities. Here are some things I did that the recipe did not: I used a fourth less flour and whisked my dry ingredients thoroughly. I used only 2 tps of baking powder and a 1/2 tps of salt. I also used 1 cup of honey butter melted and poured into the sugar which i beat with electric mixer I used egg whites and saved the yolks for very last. I then added a 1/2 of a cup of flour to ever 1/4 cup of milk every time and beat that in until all the flour and milk was gone and the batter well beat, I then added my vanilla, and eggs yolks beat them in and then stirred in some chocolate chips. I baked it at 350 for 35 minutes and no longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States