Yellow Cake Made from Scratch Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
It did not rise in the center and is grainy like sweet cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This recipe was great. Taste delicious and it was my first time making cake from scratcscratch. Thanks allrecipes for not letting me down
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
This cake turned out very well on the first try. After reading a few reviews, I used margarine instead of shortening, reduced the baking soda to 2 tsp, and used a little less salt. Also added a hint of almond extract, and beat mixture very well. I baked in two 9" round pans, and baked for twenty minutes even. This cake only takes like an hour to cool completely on a rack! They came out of the pans super easily after less than five minutes. ( I use PAM Baking spray, already has flour in it and its great for everything.) Cakes were a little thin, and the crunchy edges needed to be trimmed, but lovely moist, fluffy texture. Trimmed edges still make a delicious snack, but I don't like it mixing with the fluffy texture of the cake, and I wanted a smaller cake. Filled it with low fat cool whip(A little less than half a tub) mixed with diced strawberries. Topped with more of the cool whip and sliced strawberries. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Have to agree with previously posted review that 3.5 teaspoons of baking powder is too much and made the cake more savory than sweet. Otherwise, this a nice quick recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
I use this recipe for everything from birthday cakes to pineapple upside down cake and it always comes out wonderful!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Delicious so tender, made them into cupcakes I subsist used the milk for buttermilk. My whole family ate them in 2 seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
First time I have made a cake from scratch and this turned out perfect for my upside down pineapple cake. I followed Tonysgdbg suggestions and used the ingredient at room temperature except for the butter which I substituted for the shortening. Very moist and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Butler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
this recipe is now my staple for yellow cake! it is wonderful and very simple. idk what went wrong with the people that gave this bad reviews... I added a bit more vanilla and it took it through the roof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
U got to adjust the recipes to u ovens all ovens don't bake the same u just have to play around till u find how it cooks best for u and all people's taste is not the same so make it work for u personally have a good day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
Excellent, iced with a sweet butter cream icing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYPMGMT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States