Yellow Angel Food Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
yummy!! I followed another post and baked at 300 for 50 minutes. I added 1/2 t. vanilla and 1/2 t. almond extracts. I love the idea of using the entire egg and also using all purpose flour and not needing the cake flour. I am adding this recipe to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
I have made many Angel Food cakes so I was excited to try this to use in my trifle......epic disappointment! Taste like eggs. Does NOT hold it's loft and actually fell. The texture is more like sponge cake. I couldn't help but think that maybe this recipe was edited incorrectly. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
It tastes great! Tastes just like store brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Palo Alto, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Easy to make and I was happy with the appearance of the end product, but oh-my-goodness, it is sickly sweet. I used unsweetened raspberries to cut the sweetness, but my kids (!) still wouldn't eat it; it was THAT sweet. I don't know if cutting the sugar drastically would change the chemistry of the cake and make it fail, but that's the only way I'd try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
It turned out not very sweet or flavorful at all--like a bland fortune cookie. I don't claim to have made it perfectly--I made the syrup first and it started to change texture before I added it. It wasn't horrible but not great, again, maybe my fault but it seems others have had problems too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
followed directions exactly, it came out tasting JUST like an omelete! I have NEVER had a bad recipe off of this site until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
sorry, i meant chiffon cake--i said sponge cake earlier. zbegoniac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Meh-just not angel food cake, but it was okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Very Goog
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
THIS CAKE IS NICE AND FLUFFY. I DID ADD SOME VARIATIONS TO THE RECIPE. I ADDED 1 TABLESPOON OF ORANGE ZEST, 1/2 TS OF ORANGE EXTRACT AND 1/2 TS OF VANILLA. I ADDED THESE BECAUSE WITHOUT IT THE CAKE IS A BIT BLAND. I ALSO LOWERED THE COOK TIME TO 35 MINUTES AND LOWERED THE TEMPERATURE TO 325 DEGREES. I WORK WITH AN ELECTRIC RANGE SO I KEPT A CLOSE EYE. ALL IN ALL A FABULOUS RECIPE. I PLAN TO SERVE IT WITH A WHIPPED TOPPING AND A TROPICAL FRUIT MEDLEY. ENJOY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States