Yeast Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
The best waffle recipe I've found!! I love the ease of preparing at bedtime and just finishing 'em off and throwing them in the waffle iron in the morning! Like other reviewers have stated I found they make a big batch and so I freeze the left-overs. To re-warm them we throw them in the toaster (for just a short bit so they don't burn!)and they come right back to life just as if they were just cooked! Very, very good recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
The good thing about this recipe is that it doesn't taste like the plain old waffles that you get from a boxed batter. It does have a fresh-baked bread taste. My waffles didn't turn out crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. They were actually kind of limp...I suppose it could actually be a problem with the waffle iron. The batter was also extremely thinner than what I'm used to. All in all a decent recipe and easy to execute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
This really is a great recipe! I often cater brunch and this is a favorite of everyone. Most of the work is done the night before. With a couple of steps in the morning and you have a wonderful breakfast. I use a belgian waffle iron that flips and I wipe the hot iron with a stick of butter before each waffle. I always serve these waffles with fresh whipping cream, real maple syrup, and an assortment of berries. I disolve the sugar in the water before adding the yeast to help it rise. Other than this step, I wouldn't change a thing in the recipe!!! If you do any research and look for an authentic Belgian recipe, I think this "yeasty" recipe is very close in taste but is much easier than the traditional Belgian recipes. They are even better the second or third day. When I have extra batter, I freeze it in individual serving bags and put them in the freeze for my son who is away at school. I haven't used the frozen batter for clients but my son loves having this taste from home while he is away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed the crisp/firm consistancy of this waffle recipe. For my personal taste, I would use less yeast and add malt flavoring to create a more "hotel restaraunt" taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
My hubby made these last night so we could serve guests for breakfast. Very happy! These are definitely worth passing on the Bisquick! So yummy and such a different taste than plain ol' waffles. We doubled and cooked up a bunch of waffles and put them in small freezer bags for quick before school breakfast. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
This is my favorite waffle recipe. I would give it five stars but I cannot remember to put this together the night before usually. I have actually doubled the yeast and let it rise for aproximately 3 hours and had a passable result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
As others have said, this recipe makes nice light, crispy waffles. Unlike pancakes (or waffle-shaped pancakes), I easily ate two waffles and didn't feel like I was waddling away from the table afterwards. Based on comments posted here, I added 1 t. of vanilla to the batter to enhance the flavor but I really like the idea of making a savory waffle by adding crumbled bacon, so plan to try that the next time out. The batter was easy to put together. I scalded the milk in the microwave, then stirred the butter into it to melt; saving me an extra dish to wash. Being able to leave the batter to work overnight made for a quick finish of the dish in the morning. I'll definitely use this recipe again; especially the next time I host a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe! Good flavor, good texture, and I love that I can mix it up ahead of time. I mixed it up before going to work, and made them for dinner--nice & easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This is definitely a 5 star recipe! I made it for Christmas Eve Day breakfast and with being able to prepare it the night before it was a breeze. The waffles are light and crispy on the outside and soft inside - delicious! We put chocolate chips in some, pecans in some and bacon in some which made for a nice variety for our waffle buffet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
These were good. Not "the Best", but goo. I really liked being able to make them the night before to be able to sleep in as late as possible! Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States