Yeast Raised Christmas Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I have made these for years and years. I found the recipe in Fannie Farmer's cookbook. I do have one modification, which you will really approve: You DO NOT have to let the batter raise, not even a little bit. So whip it up, pour some onto your sizzling waffle iron... and ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CDabis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hannibal, Missouri, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe. It is a little time consuming, but worth it. A Thanksgiving morning favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made these for a small Christmas brunch. I'd never tried yeast waffles but found this recipe delicious and very forgiving. Good thing. My yeast was old and I didn't separate the eggs (beat them till foamy), but the results were excellent. My grown daughter said they were the best she'd ever had. I cooked them in a Kitchenaid waffle maker for 4 minutes and that seemed right. The batter is more like dough, so be sure to have something to scoop it out as it won't pour very easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by honeychile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
These waffles are wonderful!!!!!!!My family looks forward to waffle Sunday!!!!!F.Johnson
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
My first time making real Belgian waffles. I use a KitchenAid PRO Line waffle maker and was able to get 6 waffles from this recipe. Love the yeast dough and even better...we can make the batter the night before! This is our new go to recipe. A note to those that suggest that there is no need to separate the eggs and beat the egg whites separately and then fold into the batter...as an experienced baker, beating the egg whites and then folding them into the batter (yeast present or not) this batter does benefit from this step. I would proceed as the recipe suggests. Hubby's says these are most excellent. Christmas morning will be much more relaxed and enjoyable for me because of the prep the night before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I have been searching for the "perfect" waffle. This is it hands down. Perfectly crisp and tender. Thank you for the recipe. Even the second day; exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These waffles are delicious. I made them for my husband just this weekend and I don't think we will ever go back to making waffles with a pancake mix again! Since I like my batter a little sweeter I added 1 tbsp of brown sugar and little extra vanilla. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Excellent waffles! I got a new Belgian waffle maker at the Black Friday sale yesterday and decided to use this recipe in it first. I was a little concerned about them being too eggy, so I only used three eggs. We really liked the light, airy texture, yet crispy outsides. We ate them with butter and syrup or apple butter, but I can't wait to try them with strawberries and whipped cream! My waffle maker must be a little smaller than the recipe author's, because I got 6-1/2 waffles out of this recipe. The leftovers went into the freezer for a quick breakfast another day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
The best waffle recipe I've ever come across, hands down. Great frozen & thrown in the toaster for a quick breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
Not terrible, but not what I was expecting. I will keep looking for that perfect yeast waffle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States