Yeast Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I have made great yeasted waffles, but never pancakes so I thought I would try these. When I got it out this morning it was like dough not batter. I tried several variations, finally I added more milk. Still not great results. I like the use of vanilla, but not the cinnamon. Tomorrow I'm going to try making waffles out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic, I just didn't use the cinnamon, but the brown up so nice and are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great pancakes! I changed the flour to whole wheat flour, the sugar to agave syrup, and used soy milk. I let these rise for an hour instead of overnight. I needed to add more soy milk, but I think that is because of the whole wheat flour, not the recipe. These were quite fluffy; I compare them to fry bread! These have a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These are edible, but thick and rubbery. They don't taste like the yummy, thin yeast pancakes from a famous restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dough came out really thick. I had a little trouble transfering the dough from my spoon to the griddle. They came out okay, the flavor was different. I think if I were to make this again, I might just cut back a little on the flour and add more milk, like other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These were good and I enjoyed them. They were almost too yeasty for me, but they were still good. I used a little whole wehat flour and served with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I like these a bit thinner. They have a crunch missing from other pancakes and they are nearer to gaufres/belgian waffles. Cook longer with less heat to achieve this. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
These were "ok" pancakes. They did have some good flavor to them, a light hint of yeast/sourdough flavor. The batter came out very thick and almost dough-like. Next time I'll cut the flour to 2 cups and increase the milk a bit. They were hard to spread on the grill, a little lumpy, but once cooked them you couldn't even tell. When I took it out of the fridge, I let it sit for about 30 minutes before stirring (per the previous review), I did not want rubbery pancakes. They did come out soft with a little fluff to them. These are good when you want that light hint of sourdough flavor or you run out of your regular pancake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I've been tweaking this recipe for our own use. I started by adding blue berries and have taken off with it. With more batches, I have learned not to stir down the batter too much in the morning - otherwise you end up with flat,rubber disks. I found that the batter was better as it came up to room temp especially if I stired it too much. I still want to try adding diced apple, but so far have been Vetoed by the family. Blueberries are their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
These are really quick for weekday mornings. They come out tasty too, but might benefit from the addition of some blueberries or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States