Yeast Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I have made great yeasted waffles, but never pancakes so I thought I would try these. When I got it out this morning it was like dough not batter. I tried several variations, finally I added more milk. Still not great results. I like the use of vanilla, but not the cinnamon. Tomorrow I'm going to try making waffles out of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Fantastic, I just didn't use the cinnamon, but the brown up so nice and are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Great pancakes! I changed the flour to whole wheat flour, the sugar to agave syrup, and used soy milk. I let these rise for an hour instead of overnight. I needed to add more soy milk, but I think that is because of the whole wheat flour, not the recipe. These were quite fluffy; I compare them to fry bread! These have a wonderful flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These are edible, but thick and rubbery. They don't taste like the yummy, thin yeast pancakes from a famous restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This dough came out really thick. I had a little trouble transfering the dough from my spoon to the griddle. They came out okay, the flavor was different. I think if I were to make this again, I might just cut back a little on the flour and add more milk, like other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
These were good and I enjoyed them. They were almost too yeasty for me, but they were still good. I used a little whole wehat flour and served with real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
I like these a bit thinner. They have a crunch missing from other pancakes and they are nearer to gaufres/belgian waffles. Cook longer with less heat to achieve this. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
These were "ok" pancakes. They did have some good flavor to them, a light hint of yeast/sourdough flavor. The batter came out very thick and almost dough-like. Next time I'll cut the flour to 2 cups and increase the milk a bit. They were hard to spread on the grill, a little lumpy, but once cooked them you couldn't even tell. When I took it out of the fridge, I let it sit for about 30 minutes before stirring (per the previous review), I did not want rubbery pancakes. They did come out soft with a little fluff to them. These are good when you want that light hint of sourdough flavor or you run out of your regular pancake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
I've been tweaking this recipe for our own use. I started by adding blue berries and have taken off with it. With more batches, I have learned not to stir down the batter too much in the morning - otherwise you end up with flat,rubber disks. I found that the batter was better as it came up to room temp especially if I stired it too much. I still want to try adding diced apple, but so far have been Vetoed by the family. Blueberries are their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2001
These are really quick for weekday mornings. They come out tasty too, but might benefit from the addition of some blueberries or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States