Yeast Hot Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Tried this recipe for the first time ever yesterday and it came out perfect my family was surprised when I brought them out to the table. My husband arrived home from work and the first thing he said was I could smell them from the driveway when I walked down the carport to enter the doorway to the house I thought to myself that wonderful smell can't be comming from my home cause my wife dosen't know how to make bread/rolls. To his surprise and amazement it was our home he couldn't wait to eat dinner with hot yeast rolls, gravy, and for dessert homemade turnovers. I'm making another batch now because he is off tomorrow and will be asking for some with leftovers for lunch, not to mention my kids loved them also so this time I doubled the recipe to make 12 I hope they come out as good like the first ones did because the recipe is easy and fail proof anyone can do it if you just follow the simple and easy directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were ok, but I was attempting to make something similar to the frozen Rhodes rolls you defrost and let rise, for Thanksgiving. These fell drastically short of those. I followed the recipe but added more salt. Taste and smell was good but the texture was off. I gave them a second rise once formed into balls. They weren't very fluffy or light, were a bit dry and almost stale tasting right from the oven. Strange. I'll try a new recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I, like a lot of others who rated this, added a little more sugar and salt for flavor as well as letting them rise a 2nd time on the baking sheet before cooking them. The longer you let them rise the fluffier they will be...they turn out more like biscuits if you don't let them rise a 2nd time. My husband loved these and I've been attempting many recipes as of late, but this is the only one that came close to pleasing me as well as my family. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
excellent rolls. I let them rise 30 minutes in the bowl and 30 minutes on the tray after shaping. They were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This is a very good recipe, it made tons!!! I gave some to my neighbors and family!! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilroudy23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
These were very good rolls, I made them into small oval shapes and cut little slits on the top then after shaping them I let them rise again and baked to a beautiful golden brown... They went excellent with the homemade clam chowder I served tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stafford Springs, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great rolls! I did follow the recommendation to let rise on the baking sheets one more time. This was my first successful try at yeast rolls, and they came out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Froze half the dough, Have had nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2008
These were really good. Some of the best I have had. I just added a little more yeast. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Providence Forge, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe is great except it's missing one important step: Let the rolls rise again on the baking sheet before you bake them. I made a sheet of rolls and some "bubble bread" because it makes a lot of dough. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States