Yeast Hot Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2005
This dough resembled the kind I used to make at a restaurant. I think they would have turned out better had I prepared them like we did there. Next time I'll form the dough into roll sized pieces and place on a greased baking sheet in a warm moist oven. I will also add a little more sugar and salt next time. Acutally, I can't wait to make them again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This recipe is great except it's missing one important step: Let the rolls rise again on the baking sheet before you bake them. I made a sheet of rolls and some "bubble bread" because it makes a lot of dough. Both were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2001
Very good recipe. I recieve compliments each time I make these rolls. I made a few adjustments.I add a tad more sugar and salt because my family said they were a lit bland the first time I tried them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
I substituted a small boiled mashed potato for the flakes and that worked just fine. Let it do a second rise in a warm oven. I also kneeded by hand for about 7-10 minutes. I noticed some of the other reviewers said it tasted biscuity that's probably because they under kneeded it. Mine was soft and chewy-great! I used it for bierochs and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I, like a lot of others who rated this, added a little more sugar and salt for flavor as well as letting them rise a 2nd time on the baking sheet before cooking them. The longer you let them rise the fluffier they will be...they turn out more like biscuits if you don't let them rise a 2nd time. My husband loved these and I've been attempting many recipes as of late, but this is the only one that came close to pleasing me as well as my family. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueyedbrea

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
My husband thought these were store-bought rolls (coming from him, this is a good thing). These had an odd texture to them that I have never had when baking bread--they weren't chewy, exactly, but kind of mealy, more like a biscuit (although these definitely tasted more like rolls than bixcuits). I might try making these again, but I would add more salt to give them a little more flavor. Also, like another reviewer noted, I think these would turn out better if, after the dough has risen the first time, they were formed into balls and allowed to rise again before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Froze half the dough, Have had nothing but compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2002
My 12 year old daughter used this recipe as a pizza crust. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
excellent rolls. I let them rise 30 minutes in the bowl and 30 minutes on the tray after shaping. They were perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I made these for Thanksgiving, and this was my first shot at yeast rolls. They were sooo good. I made enough for breakfast the next day. The second day, they were out of this world with a little butter and jelly. The whole family loved them. They were also easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doctor B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States