Yeast-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
I am gluten-free and I don't tolerate yeast well, so I decided to try this recipe with an all-purpose gluten free flour. I went ahead and used 2 1/4 cups g-f flour and 1/4 cup of ground flax seed (to ensure a bit of a nutty flavor and for extra nutrition), then added 1 tablespoon of baking soda and 3/4 teaspoon of salt (because there is no such thing as self-rising g-f flour). I did not use any of the sugar, but used 12 ounces of 7 UP. I baked it for 50 minutes. I had a bit of trouble getting it to turn out of my small loaf pan, so I will use more grease/flour next time. IT IS DELICIOUS and has a perfect texture. Please note: I did NOT use any xanthan gum. I look forward to adding some herbs to it in the future just to experiment with more tastes. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing the original recipe on-line!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I have made this several times since I found out I have to be yeast free for a few months. This bread is awesome and so easy. I use Lime Lacroix, 1 tsp sugar and 1 tsp salt and various seasonings depending on what I am pairing it with. Tonight, I added some dried jalapeno and chipotle seasoning. Italian is also really great! This past weekend, I made pigs in a blanket, it was a hit, but very messy to make. Though worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevjern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mamacrocker
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Just made this recipe, omg amazing! I added garlic, parsley and a garlic sprinkle. Also sprinkled 3 cheeses on top....needless to say it's already half eaten!! I would recommend to anyone with taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by superkat
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
So easy and so good! I used a can of non alcoholic beer and it turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
This is an excellent recipe, tastes great. I use lemon flavored sparkling water from Trader Joes and added 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder and 1 teaspoon of salt, made 6 bread rolls and baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Excellent toasted then spread with Peanut butter and jelly and when I make Tuna Burgers. Not bought bread since I found this recipe. Also freezes well. Thank you Andrew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This sounds good, but is there a yeastfree bread without the use of soda? Maybe replace the lemon lime soda with Club soda? Thank you to all who reply!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tibear2010
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Incredible but true! This works and it's good. I used bread flour, 2tsp of baking powder and 1tsp of salt with a can of 7up, I didn't add sugar, and voilà! I made them into 14 mini buns (12 if I would have really overfilled them) I added a picture for you to see. Cooking time is about 20 minutes +. Check with a toothpick for readiness. Now I'm ready for my Christmas diner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This bread is shockingly good! My son was recently diagnosed as having a yeast intolerance, and he was really missing bread. I made it for him this morning, and we're both having it for lunch. Not having self-rising flour, I used 3 cups baker's flour, 4 tsp baking powder and 1 tsp salt along with a can of Sprite and 1/4 cup olive oil. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This tastes just like the homemade bread my mom would make when I was a kid but without the hours of proofing, kneading, and hoping it wasn't too burnt at the end! Fantastic recipe, passing it on to Mom right now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAETHELYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I used seltzer water because that was all I had and I made my own self rising flour. This was okay. The kids liked it, they both ate several pieces spread with butter. Both the husband and I like beer bread much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States