Yeast-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
I made this bread for my best friend, as she is allergic to yeast. I was skeptical at first. I used Sprite diet soda. Today she opened her "gift" and we had a toasted piece. WOW! It was so good. She said she could easily get hooked on this bread and was cheaper than what she was buying at the health food stores. She is making another loaf tomorrow. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
I had never baked bread before trying this recipe. Hence, I used a glass loaf pan instead of metal. My bread came out too doughy due to using the wrong container. Just sharing my goof, so that others use this great recipe properly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This gives new meaning to the term 'soda bread'. I thought I had really messed it up (didn't have self-rising flour, used 2 tsps. baking powder and 1/2 tsp. salt added to reg. flour, plus I baked in a pie plate), but the flavor was really, really good! I was so surprised at the taste. Kind of chewy and slightly sweet (I used 7-Up and only 2 tablespoons of sugar). There is something magical about this strange combination, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
This was a super fast to prepare and super easy bake! Tasted great too! I shared it with my co-workers, and I didn't have to print the recipe, it was so easy to remember. I'm going to try it adding Italian seasonings and parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Rice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I loved this recipe. I made it twice, so far, once plain, and once with garlic. I used a can of regular Sprite and 1 Tbs. sugar, next time I would not add the sugar. I also added a few thin slices of butter on the top. I used it to make grilled cheese sandwiches and just served plain. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2003
This is an excellent easy recipe. It works with any flavor of soda. For a little extra flavor I add the zest from an orange to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
This was the first "from scratch" bread I baked. I was going to pass it up and decided...if it comes out bad, what did I really waste. I have no complaints whatsoever and would reccomend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2005
I loved this recipe. It was the first time I've baked bread and it was so simple. It's a bit doughy after you first take it out of the oven, but is fine when you let it sit for two hours. I found keeping in a tupperware container that it stayed fresh for a couple of days. I used one can of sprite zero. It has a touch of sweetness and goes great with sugar free jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
It was a rather tastless bread this, could I add some salt? Some recipes indicate that one should add lemonjuice, why would that be and others again use buttermilk. Please give me some advice, as I am not allowed to have any bread with yeast and could one use any alternative flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: George, Western Cape, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This bread is great but to make it less sweet and better for sandwiches I use a can of club soda instead of lemon lime soda. I am allergic to yeast so this is as close to bread as I get, what a wonderful alternative to yeast breads!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States