Yeast Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2014
The perfect dumplings for chicken and dumplings. We have made these twice now and can't get enough of them. We make our chicken broth and I recommend doing that if you have the time, it makes them so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I'd say it was a good base for something better. Too much sugar, so next time I'll cut it way back. Maybe add some more seasoning, like Italian seasoning, black pepper, and serve with garlic butter. Nothing like taking a German dish and making it Italian! And due to the heaviness, I'd say it serves 8-10, not 6.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Wow! These are amazing! I had to try one right out of the water. Did I say, Yum? Well, YUM! Now, helpful stuff: This recipe makes approximately 60 dumplings if you roll them into slightly-larger-than-a-marble sized balls. Which is what I did. I also cut the sugar from 1/2 cup to 1/3 cup, plus one teaspoon to use in proofing the yeast. I didn't have any problems with having too much liquid or not enough with using the 4 1/2 cups of flour. I did allow it to rise twice - the first time it just didn't seem to rise as much as it should have, so I pulled it out, kneaded it some more and put it back in the bowl, covered it with a warm towel for about an hour. That looked better so then I proceeded to make it into balls and plop them (carefully) into the boiling broth. They rose to the top quite quickly but I left them in for a full 12 minutes and they turned out perfect. (YUM!) I drained, cooled, and bagged half of the dumplings and put them in the freezer for an easy future meal. The rest I left in the broth and added left-over turkey from Christmas, a little salt and pepper, and turned it down to simmer. It will be our dinner tonight. I can hardly wait! Thank you for this recipe Rhonda35! They are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
The best dumpling recipe ever if you are looking for a chewy dumpling. It makes a lot so I freeze half the dumplings and they come out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
The consisentency of the dumplings were good, however it could have definetely done without the sugar. The sweetness was so overpowering that it dominated the recipe. I had even added chicken, carrots, and celery and couldn't taste it over the sweetness. It also took much longer for the dumplings to cook than 10 minutes. I would say it was more towards 20-25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
These proportions are way off. I'm still at the mixing phase. I used 1/2c butter, 1/2c milk, 1/2c water, 3 eggs as per the ingredients list. I am now well into 6 cups of flour, and the dough still hasn't formed. At 4-1/2c flour, it was a soupy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
this one has potential. I made it as stated. don't care for the sweetness of it.had to add more liquid and still wouldn't cook all the way through. need to roll it out thinner.and use a lot less sugar.then they will be pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bedford, Texas, USA
Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This was an excellent recipe! I'd been searching for a yeast (and not baking powder) based dumpling recipe on the internet for a while and this one, the dirst that I came across was a sure winner. I varied the recipe a little and yet the dumplings still came out wonderfully. Firstly, I trimmed the recipe down to a serving for 4. Instead of melting butter in milk I actually used buttermilk (for 4 servings use about 150ml). After leaving the dough to settle, I did find that I needed to knead the dough a little longer than the suggested 3 minutes but go according to the consistency of your dough. Mine was a little too sticky initially and needed additional cake flour to elasticize & harden it. Also I shaped my dough into little round balls instead of the strips and although I was a little apprehensive that they may not cook right through, they absolutely did. And boy did those babies double in size! Glorious. I simply cooked them for 15 (and not 10) minutes in the broth & they came out excellently. I used a combination of minestrone soup and spicy chicken soup broth to boil mine in and the flavour that it gave them was lovely. They were as heavy, delicious and hearty as I wanted. Im not a fan of the light and fluffy variety of dumplings. This recipe is going into my file of 'to prepare again' recipes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I usually make traditional dumplings with baking powder & thought I would try something different this time. I had high hopes for this recipe but was not impressed with it. I followed the recipe & instructions exactly except that I cut the dough in squares rather than strips. The dumplings floated to the top almost immediately but they were still raw so I let them simmer for another 10 minutes. I found the texture to be that of wet, gummy bread. Not liking to admit defeat I followed the advice of another poster & made steamed pork buns with some of the dough (it makes a LOT). I just purchased some Chinese BBQ pork, minced it up & added hoisin sauce. I made small discs of dough, added a heaping teaspoon of the meat filling & pinched it closed. They were the approx shape & size of a golf ball. I put the balls on squares of wax paper and let them rise a little. Then I got my electric pressure cooker up to pressure with water in it, turned it off, quick released the steam so I could get the lid off and put the buns inside on a steaming rack. I pressure steamed for 6 minutes. You could use any steaming method. They were pretty good. The dough seems more suitable for steaming than for cooking in a liquid. The 2 stars are for the dumplings - I would give the steamed buns 4. Perhaps if this is what you grew up eating for dumplings it is the recipe for you. I will stick with the recipe my mom passed down & that I've been using for 34 years. Why fix what's not broken?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTYMCNAMARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Cowichan, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
These are by far the best dumplings I've ever made. I used only 2 Tablespoons sugar (otherwise too sweet) and rolled out dough only 1/8 inch thick and they were the perfect size. I also used at least a gallon of broth and could have used more. I will not be looking for another dumpling recipe, THIS IS IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

How to Proof Yeast

Learn simple tricks for proofing yeast to make breads & pastries light and airy.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States