Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
The recipe did not rise. Someone might happen get some good results possibly from this, but very bad directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
The first time I used this recipe I found them delicious, however they did not rise well. So the second time, I did the milk, yeast, and sugar together then followed the recipe. They were much better. Instead of dusting I made a choc glaze and a vanilla glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These are Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by handymark

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RICKMCCJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Great recipe it's very similar to one I have been using for years. A tip for first timers: the side that you have facing up while rising turn them over and deep fry that side down first and it will help the doughnuts rise better and they wont turn out as cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CURRYCOOKS
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This is a good recipe for anyone wanting to make donuts similar to your local donuts shop. They are not cake donuts and if they turn out like that, then you didn't make them correctly. I recommend microwaving the milk, butter & sugar one minute or until luke-warm to avoid killing the yeast when you add it to your dry ingredients. You may need to let the doughnuts rise longer than the recipe calls for. Also make sure that you are using good yeast that hasn't expired. It's all about the rise and that they are cooked properly. I recommend using a thermostat controlled deep fryer to accurately fry these doughnuts just a little bit past golden brown. Let them cool down before you coat them. They are excellent with glaze, powdered sugar & various flavors of cake icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
I followed the direction to a T and they tasted more like cake doughnuts. They weren't soft and and chewy in the inside they were more cake like. My husband liked them as for me I like the taste of actual yeast doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lydia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galt, California, USA
Living In: Riverbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
do not overbake these! once i learned not to overbake, they taste like the 'real thing'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hsin-Hsin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
Gotta bring this one down a notch. I've made them twice, and they came out dense and dry. I think the yeast may be mixed in wrong. I would try activating it with the sugar next time, and maybe using half the egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
good. i added a little more van for taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenelf

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States