Yeast Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Me and my family live in Chile and sell these doughnuts to the public. It did take a little getting used to, the first couple times we made them they were rather hard and un-risen, but now they are just as fluffy as store-bought. I strongly suggest this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
i think this recipe is very very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
My first try at doughnuts and I was worried because the dough didn't rise as expected but they came our pretty good. I made a second batch and tested the temperature of the milk to make sure it wasn't too hot. Everybody loves them. I didn't put a hole and filled them with canned lemon pie filling and topped with glaze. I haven't fried the second batch yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Piru, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
There are several reasons why this might be tricky: using yeast always is. The disasters some have noted almost certainly occurred because the yeast was dead (stale). It might be advisable to proof the yeast before making the recipe: dead yeast will never leaven anything. Also, if one wishes a fluffier or lighter doughnut, don't bat the dough down completely: fluffier dough means a fluffier outcome. I must say I make this with sugar substitutes (being diabetic): xylitol or Diabetisweet (an Isomalt product) works fine: indeed, xylitol can be bought in powdered "confectioners'" form. It also helps to add some "nonbulk" sugar substitute also, Splenda (Sucralose) being preferred, in addition to the xylitol or Diabetisweet (which should replace granular and confectioners' sugar on a one-to-one basis): I would suggest four or five packets per recipe. Keeping your yeast alive and happy till baking is, I would say, key.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by delaineyrae
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
I'm pretty sure I'm done trying different doughnut recipes. This one turned out just how I like them. I put a basic glaze on them and sprinkled my left over holiday sprinkles on them for the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaineyrae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I couldn't get the dough to rise so these didn't make very good donuts. But what I came up with when I was done was a very good tasting "pretzel".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I really had high hopes for this recipe, but I think you've really got to have a good feel for bread making to get this one right. I do ok with bread, but I'm not amazing at it. Like several others, I had serious problems with the dough rising properly. It took me three tries and letting it sit out over night to finally get it to rise. I am sure I killed the yeast the 1st time. I was careful to temp the milk-sugar-butter mix the 2nd time, but it did not work. After that, I tested my yeast and my thermometer to make sure that was not the issue. The 3rd time, I was very very careful with the temp of the milk mixture, and finally after letting it sit out all night, it did rise, but not well. The resulting doughnuts were dense and difficult to fry with out burning, but they tasted alright. Not amazing by any means, but good, especially with a sugar glaze. I do not plan on using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I followed directions perfectly and waited 3 hours for the dough to rise. Never did. Will throw this recipe out. Never will try this one again. It does not even rate a 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Not quite what I wanted in a doughnut. I was looking for a lighter, less bready texture, and definitely a little sweeter. I'll keep looking. Not bad, just not my doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
Not bad. A tad too heavy for me, but still good none-the-less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States