Ye Ole Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This recipe is very moist, full of flavour. I used half molasses, half honey as I could not get a hold of Golden Syrup. Was a great substitute. So far, every who has tried this loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marljong
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Great gingerbread! I added an egg, salt, molasses, lemon zest, nutmeg and used brown sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marljong

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious! I did not have golden syrup so I used 2 tablespoons molasses and 1 tablespoon of corn syrup and it turned out wonderfully dense and moist. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettsi
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This recipe did not turn out right. It's missing something, eggs??, I don't know but it didn't rise and was kind of greasy. Still edible so I'll take it to work - they'll eat anything there. Waste of time and ingredients in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!! I was a bit skeptical about a gingerbread recipe that didn't use molasses, and about the fact it's so light in colour (I like the look of a dense, dark gingerbread loaf). But this is AMAZING. My whole family loves it. The texture is perfect...I made 12 muffins instead, and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes. The outside was a tiny bit crispy and the insides were dense but very moist. Made a test batch yesterday and will make a triple recipe today! (BTW, I used Rogers golden syrup...easy to find in Canada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
In order to help when looking for the ingredients, golden syrup is the English reference to molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I found Lyle's Golden Syrup in the syrup aisle of QFC (grocery store chain in my region). I made this for dipping into chocolate fondue at a Xmas party. Major YUM!!! If serving for company, bake the day of; your house will smell terrific for hours! A holiday keeper for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
good. very flavorful. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
"Never fail"? As much as it pains me to rate a recipe with so little stars, I can't give this any more than 2...and that's only because of the ease of the recipe. I'm very selective in what I chose to make off this site and I tend to only make things that have high star ratings, so I was fairly confident that this would turn out really well. I did everything exactly as stated in the directions and I could not get the bread to cook all the way through. I really had high hopes for this! If I try to make this again I'll update my review...however, that's a mighty big IF. Thanks for sharing tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I will not rate this recipe as I have changed too many things for it to be considered the same. However, I will rate the technique, which deserves a 5. First of all, I was looking for a quick bread that did not require the creaming step (i hate creaming), and I came upon this. I substituted oil for the butter (another reviewer was confused about how much butter to use, but I think 6 oz of butter means by weight, not by volume, which would make it about a third of a stick) i used about 2 oz of oil (by volume) and instead of the syrup, I used buckwheat honey. Furthermore, I substituted light brown sugar for the white - and I think I used a bit less than a cup. I didn't use allspice since I didn't have it, but added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. When I boiled the liquid mixture, the milk curdled, but i used it anyway. Upon pouring the boiling mixture on top of the dry ingredients, the batter started to set immediately, which was why the texture of the final bread was so dense and sturdy (i love that and the fact that it doesn't crumble when it's cut). Basically, I think the technique is genius, and I will use it for every other quick bread recipe I can adapt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Easy Pancakes

See how to make quick-and-easy pancakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States