Ye Ole Gingerbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious! I did not have golden syrup so I used 2 tablespoons molasses and 1 tablespoon of corn syrup and it turned out wonderfully dense and moist. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettsi
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
This recipe did not turn out right. It's missing something, eggs??, I don't know but it didn't rise and was kind of greasy. Still edible so I'll take it to work - they'll eat anything there. Waste of time and ingredients in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALTAROSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint-Bruno-De-Montarville, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Absolutely wonderful!! I was a bit skeptical about a gingerbread recipe that didn't use molasses, and about the fact it's so light in colour (I like the look of a dense, dark gingerbread loaf). But this is AMAZING. My whole family loves it. The texture is perfect...I made 12 muffins instead, and baked them at 350 for about 20 minutes. The outside was a tiny bit crispy and the insides were dense but very moist. Made a test batch yesterday and will make a triple recipe today! (BTW, I used Rogers golden syrup...easy to find in Canada).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
In order to help when looking for the ingredients, golden syrup is the English reference to molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I found Lyle's Golden Syrup in the syrup aisle of QFC (grocery store chain in my region). I made this for dipping into chocolate fondue at a Xmas party. Major YUM!!! If serving for company, bake the day of; your house will smell terrific for hours! A holiday keeper for my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
good. very flavorful. easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cathyt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Essexville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
"Never fail"? As much as it pains me to rate a recipe with so little stars, I can't give this any more than 2...and that's only because of the ease of the recipe. I'm very selective in what I chose to make off this site and I tend to only make things that have high star ratings, so I was fairly confident that this would turn out really well. I did everything exactly as stated in the directions and I could not get the bread to cook all the way through. I really had high hopes for this! If I try to make this again I'll update my review...however, that's a mighty big IF. Thanks for sharing tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
I will not rate this recipe as I have changed too many things for it to be considered the same. However, I will rate the technique, which deserves a 5. First of all, I was looking for a quick bread that did not require the creaming step (i hate creaming), and I came upon this. I substituted oil for the butter (another reviewer was confused about how much butter to use, but I think 6 oz of butter means by weight, not by volume, which would make it about a third of a stick) i used about 2 oz of oil (by volume) and instead of the syrup, I used buckwheat honey. Furthermore, I substituted light brown sugar for the white - and I think I used a bit less than a cup. I didn't use allspice since I didn't have it, but added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp nutmeg. When I boiled the liquid mixture, the milk curdled, but i used it anyway. Upon pouring the boiling mixture on top of the dry ingredients, the batter started to set immediately, which was why the texture of the final bread was so dense and sturdy (i love that and the fact that it doesn't crumble when it's cut). Basically, I think the technique is genius, and I will use it for every other quick bread recipe I can adapt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Unexpectedly Great! I'll explain, for starters I had to improvise as I hadn't all ingreds. required onhand (like all spice, ground ginger, corn syrup or maple lol...the main ingredients) and also wanted it to be nearly sugar-free, so here's what I did: In the saucepan I heated 1/4C sugar, 3/4C water, 2Tsp honey & 1/2Tsp maple syrup,1tsp vanilla extract,1/2 tsp orange essence, and 1Tbs fresh grated ginger and a pinch fresh grated orange zest (what the heck, might as well...right anywho)and followed the rest of the recipe as it stated only instead of using 2C all purpose flour, I used 1C wheat &1C all purpose flour and 1Tsp cinnamon. I plan to pick up the ingredients required on my next shopping trip as I intend to make this bread exactly as the recipe states. Improvising with what I had onhand also turned out to be a very delicious, dense, bread. My hubby said it tasted alot like sweet potato bread and he ate quite a few pieces of it. So I guess I gained 2 recipes from one. Definately making again both ways. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
this recipe is wrong i would recommend another recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fayette, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Gingerbread

It’s practically the official flavor and aroma of the holidays.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States