Yam and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I've been making this recipe for the last few years for Thanksgiving and have tweaked it a little over the years. Here are my changes that have garnered rave reviews from friends and family: cut the sugar down to 1/4 cup, use orange juice instead of apple, omit lemon juice. Drizzle pure maple syrup on top and sprinkle with candied pecans. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This dish is FABULOUS! I made it on three different occassions around Thanksgiving. I used Jonagold apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Durango, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Love, love, love this one! I did not change a thing, and it came out so well, I"m making it for my unit's pitch in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I followed the directions to a tee, but this did not help my recipe. I would suggest reducing the apple juice and increasing the number of sweet potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowling Green, Missouri, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
OK, wasn't too crazy about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
My husband and I really loved the flavor combination in this dish. It's all the flavors of apple sauce but with the added texture of the yams. They add a great consistency. I give it two big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
This recipe was soooo good! That glaze is divine!! I made it at my moms for thanksgiving and everyone loved it so much we are having it for christmas too! The only thing I did different to it was I added a little extra butter. This one is definetly a keeper for the holidays! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I was looking for a healthy sweet potato recipe and this hit the spot! Everyone loved it and I will definitely be making this again. The only part I didn't like doing was basting with the juice, that was a pain. I think I basted it 3 times while it baked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jonestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
This recipe was great. It went so fast there wasn't any leftovers. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I actually decreased the apple juice by 1/2 cup, added 1/4 cup more brown sugar and 1 tsp more of cornstarch and it worked great. Slice the apples thick, or they'll be done way before the yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States