Yam and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
Like one of the others who commented, I too baked the yams for 45-min. Worked fine. Easy to peel and cut. As for the recipe, I added 2-3 oz of spiced rum! A good fit for the other spices, and a bit of an added 'mysterious' flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
Use GALA apples - they are the best. I used apple cider and nutmeg instead of allspice. Very easy! Can make this a day ahead by poaching the apples in the cider mixture first, then refrigerate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Just made this one today, and WOW! I took a few tips from other reviews: I used 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar. Other than that, I followed the recipe and it worked like a charm. My daughter, who only last week told me she despises yams, tried it and finished what she took (no seconds, but I'll take the small victory!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: German Valley, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sharon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Used Splenda brown sugar blend and Country Crock instead of the full-fat versions, and it turned out great! My family loved it, and my daughter NEVER eats yams. This is worth the effort to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Very tasty especially with chicken as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavor7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Weight Watchers: 8 points per serving. Serving size: 1/8 of casserole. Very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Whoo Hoo! VERY delicious! notes: watch out for soaked yams: yams will peel a lot nicer if you don't leave them soaking in the "cold bath"... over-done sauce: keep your eye on the sauce or it turns into syrup--also, reduce the sweetness of the sauce as the yams are very, very good by themselves... crispy apples: don't over-microwave the apples because the slightly crunchy texture is such a nice surprise in this predictably Orange dish. Even people who had never seen apples with yams were very impressed: I should have made more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This was really good, but the sweet potatoes were a bit lost in the apples & sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HERMIEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Branson, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This recipe always gets rave reviews. However, I prefer to substitute the apple juice and lemon for 1/2 cup orange juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States