Yam and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Whoo Hoo! VERY delicious! notes: watch out for soaked yams: yams will peel a lot nicer if you don't leave them soaking in the "cold bath"... over-done sauce: keep your eye on the sauce or it turns into syrup--also, reduce the sweetness of the sauce as the yams are very, very good by themselves... crispy apples: don't over-microwave the apples because the slightly crunchy texture is such a nice surprise in this predictably Orange dish. Even people who had never seen apples with yams were very impressed: I should have made more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I actually decreased the apple juice by 1/2 cup, added 1/4 cup more brown sugar and 1 tsp more of cornstarch and it worked great. Slice the apples thick, or they'll be done way before the yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I made this for Thanksgiving, and it was a big hit -- even with the kids! The apples were a great addition. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I added minced ginger and a little Grand Marnier, and I highly recommend it. I'll be making this again for Christmas thanks to multiple requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsville, New York, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This was an interesting combination of flavors and so good for you! I added more brown sugar that what the recipe called for. I used the crock pot and cooked it for about 8 hours. It's an excellent recipe for those looking for something different. I will definately be using this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
I brought this to a Thanksgiving potluck at work and it was a total hit! I was forced to substitute bottled spiced cider for the apple juice, so I omitted the spices and lemon (since those ingredients are already in the cider). It came out great! Very simple-- and I widdled 4 ingredients down to 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2000
This was a great change from the usual sticky sweet yam casseroles. The blend of apples and yams was just right. Had many, many compliments on it from all 17 at Thanksgiving dinner. Thanks, Lynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yummy recipe. I was bent on not having to go to the store for ingredients....I didn't have allspice so I used nutmeg and cloves (which I removed after the sauce was cooked). Also, I didn't have apple juice so I used apple sauce instead. Lastly, adding salt to the recipe made the casserole taste more like a side dish (my family loves dessert so they would've been easily confused!). Great recipe all in all...I received comments like, "better than Marie Calendar's yams!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearl angeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
This was fabulous!!! It made a wonderful dessert, and it was so healthy! The very first time I made it someone asked for the recipe. Tip: don't over-boil the yams! Also, I served it with a spoonful of whipped cream on top and everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
This was easy to make and good. It's fairly healthy but sweet. I added walnuts to the left overs and that gave it some crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDEGOLIER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
My husband and I really loved the flavor combination in this dish. It's all the flavors of apple sauce but with the added texture of the yams. They add a great consistency. I give it two big thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Westerly, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States