Yam and Apple Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
I am not sure what happened. Followed instructions. The apples were mushy! It tasted more like apple pie to me than yams and apples, it was okay my husband liked it. It was more of a dessert than a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I found and saved this recipe a number of years ago but had thought it not "fancy" enough for my Thanksgiving table, so I never tried it. Was I wrong! I finally made it yesterday for just my husband and myself and think I may serve it next Thanksgiving instead of the other wonderful preparations I have been using (also from this site). I would be terrific for "every day", too. It is simple to prepare, not cloyingly sweet and uses much less butter and sugar than other recipes. The apples softened a lot in the oven. The sweet potatoes, though soft, kept their shape. The blend together was perfect. (By the way, boiling them whole and then plunging them into cold water so they were not too hot to handle made peeling a breeze. The skins simply fell off by slightly rubbing.) I was a bit concerned that the sauce was too thin and runny when I put it in the oven, but it thickened up nicely, especially after taking off the cover for the last half hour. The only thing I have to work on is presentation, because I wouldn't want to put a 13x9 Pyrex baking pan on the dinner table. Next time, I am considering layering in circles in a round casserole dish or dividing into two smaller, square Corningware pans that might make a pretty presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
the best ever but I add golden raisins....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Morning*Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I have made this at least five times and it is probably one of the best veggie recipes I have ever found. The combination of yams and apples is a marriage made in heaven. I will make this one again and again. It's perfect as written. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Ok - a local german restaurant seves this - I LOVE the combination. Now - got a question. I am disabled and always looking for easy ways to cook things. Has anyone tried using like chunky premade applesauce with yams to make this? If so - do you still add the brown sugar/allspice and other items? (this would be easier for me then cutting up apples) I am just curious to see if someone tried altering this and if it worked? thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
i enjoyed making this more than i enjoyed eating it. it was pretty good but it was very sweet...i thought the taste a bit overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I ate half the pan by myself, guess that says pretty much everything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KELLEY101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Yummy recipe. I was bent on not having to go to the store for ingredients....I didn't have allspice so I used nutmeg and cloves (which I removed after the sauce was cooked). Also, I didn't have apple juice so I used apple sauce instead. Lastly, adding salt to the recipe made the casserole taste more like a side dish (my family loves dessert so they would've been easily confused!). Great recipe all in all...I received comments like, "better than Marie Calendar's yams!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pearl angeli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used about half of the brown sugar and substituted pear juice for the apple juice since I didn't have any apple juice on hand. Very good recipe, and perfect for this fall weather! Thank you, Vegas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
This recipe is great, my whole family loves it! I leave out the butter; I've made it both with and without the butter and think it tastes just fine without it, and of course, its healthier this way. I also leave out the allspice. The apple 'gravy' really makes this dish a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BatMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States