Yam Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This was ok. I had to double the broth as there was not nearly enough and it was a bit too spicy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Very yummy! I fried the onions, fresh garlic (substituted garlic powder) and diced yams before putting in the soup. I think this gave the soup an extra wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
I used this as a base recipe. I added more veggie broth and water to sauteed leeks and garlic. I also added some brocolli and beet greens. I tend to prefer creamier soups and I found using my food processor on a few ladels of soup when it was near done helped to "bulk up" the soup. Only 4 stars because it was a but too sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Vermont, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Great soup! I doubled the broth, added rice earlier but still wasn't ready. Next time I'll rice together with yams & onions or skip the rice and add different veggies. I also added 1 lb of chicken at the beginning and 1/2 tsp of coriander and cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Masovian, Poland
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Delicious soup. I used a mix of brown and dark wild rice and added it at the same time as the onions and sweet potatoes because it takes longer to cook. I did add additional chicken stock as the rice soaked it up. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I think this is so tasty, but I made some modifications. I used 1/4 teaspoon of curry as I don't like strong curry flavor, added a dash of cinnamon, and I added some boiled chicken to the soup, so it's yams, chicken and rice. I also pureed some of the yams/onions to add some thickness and more flavor to the broth. Also, double your liquids; 3 cups is not even close to enough broth. Tasty and rich, perfect for Fall/Winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
This is a tasty soup that both my husband and I enjoyed. It was slightly sweeter than I expected (and than we both prefer), which is why it didn't get 5 stars. I used a high quality yam that was quite deep in color, which potentially contributed to the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kristen Swinton
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Very yummy and easy to make! I used at least twice the amount of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is a definite 5 star soup! I double the chicken broth, and lightly fried the yams before adding to the boing broth. I then sauteed the onion, adding chopped cellery and garlic cloves (about 5) for a few minutes before adding to broth, and sauteed and added a diced potato instead of rice. It has become my favorite soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was a great soup. I had to increase the amount of broth used, also subbed brown rice for wild rice. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States