Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I absolutely loved this recipe. I'm no fancy cook and the directions were easily followed. I will be using pecans and a lot more of them next time. I too, cooked it longer and it came out fabulously! I made it for a potluck so i had to make it the night before then reheat the day of. So i did the 35 minutes the day before, and another 30-40 min day of. it was the best yam dish there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Living In: Scappoose, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Very good,could've been dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy_A

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I already reviewed but would add that for meal planning, I do not make this dish in the same meal as Pumpkin Pie, I find the flavors redundant, and honestly like this dish better than Pumpkin Pie. I like to pair this dish with the Grandma Ople's Apple Pie recipe on this site from user MOSHASMAMA. If I am taking a side dish to someone else's house for Thanksgiving, etc, I make sure they are not making Pumpkin Pie, because someone at the table always says, "this is better than Pumpkin Pie," and I feel badly for the host:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
My family all liked this recipe, even those that don't normally like yams. I did make one change and that was to use fresh yams instead of canned. I steamed them then continued with the recipe. I didn't think the yams were too sweet which was good because the topping is somewhat sweet, which balanced it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
This will be the third year that I have been asked to bring this casserole my company's annual holiday dinner. Everyone raves about it, I follow the recipe exactly but make it for 100 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Wow! Everyone loved this - even one guest tried a small bite sure that she did not like yams. She did love it and filled a big spoon for her plate! I only wish I had found this recipe sooner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
Fabulous recipe... I made it with fresh yams, left out the butter and sugar in the casserole (I thought it was sweet enough, and the texture seemed fine without the added butter). I didn't have evaporated milk, so I substituted eggnog (a bit of extra sugar in that). Also, as in other reviews, I used regular cornflakes instead of frosted flakes. It was a hit with everyone at our family gathering, and I've already passed on the recipe. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Makus Reimer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Barrhead, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
4.75 Stars! A little sweet but it was a nice alternative to regular old yam recipes. Only change I made was as another poster suggested, I used Rice Crispies vs. Frosted Corn Flakes. A huge hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Used Pecans! Crunchy, buttery goodness! And I hate yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Graham

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I made this casserole for our Thanksgiving dinner and my family LOVED it! I did make a couple of changes which included baking the yams instead of boiling them (personal preference because I think baking brings out the natural sweetness of the yams) I used half brown and half white sugars and for the topping I used pecans (my favorite w/ yams) and rice crispy cereal (all I had). This is now my all time favorite "sweet" yam recipe! I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States