Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
Hi all! I am Carol Graham that submitted this recipie. I use pecans now instead of walnuts. The leftovers are only good cold, DO NOT MICROWAVE because the frosted flakes get soggy. Those of you that add marshmellows, I think that would not allow the topping to be crunchy. I do bake it a little longer, until the center is firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
This was just the best! It's so good, so addicting! I used 2# fresh yams, changed the white sugar to 1/4 c. brown sugar and used Total Brown Sugar and Oats, slightly crushed. It was fantastic. Made it for the Holidays once and EVERYONE raved, now it's a tradtional dish. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
I cooked this for Christmas and my whole family raved about it. I was out of brown sugar, so I used all white sugar. The family didn't seem to mind one bit. Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meraux, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
Excellent dish! The kids really liked it. I didn't have frosted flakes or walnuts so I substituted Special K and and sliced almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I've been making this sine 1999 and have made it for 120 and made it for 8. It gets rave reviews from everyone. I've even been strong-armed into giving out the recipe a few times. It is a bit sweet, so sugar can be cut back a bit. Also a note if doubling: the topping will become visibly (and taste) oily if you double the butter, but go ahead and double the rest of the topping ingredients. If you are looking for a dish to wow with, this is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOEMCK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I cannot believe that I got myself and my family to eat yams... I made this for Christmas and again, last night.. And it was my kids who asked for it this time... We all love this dish.. Thank you for putting it in Allrecipes. Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have never met Carol Graham, but I thank her a million times over for submitting this recipe. I've made it about 5 times now, and when I lost it, I was thrilled to be able to find it again on this website. It truly is the best yam casserole I've ever had, and my family/friends say the same. Also, I'm allergic to walnuts, so obviously I make it without them, and it's still INCREDIBLY good! Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Was extremely sweet. Too sweet for our family but it was good. I made it into a dessert, I put a grahm cracker crust on the bottom of a 9x9 dish and used it as a dessert because it was so sweet. I liked it better like this. I also added a dew marshmellows on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
My family refuses to eat Yams/Sweet Potatoes ... until now that is! Once again this year for Thanksgiving I bought fresh Yams in hopes of finding a recipe that my family would actually eat. I will never have to search or hope again. This is the recipe I will use going forward. Only change I made was to use fresh Yams. I simply washed the Yams well with cold water and threw them into the oven with the Turkey. No foil, no butter/oil ... just as they are. Pulled them out of the oven after about 45 minutes. Let them cool for about 30 minutes then peeled and mashed. Followed the recipe from this point on omitting the corn flakes and nuts. My husband refuses to eat anything with nuts too but that's another discussion. I made everyone take at least 1 small "no thank you" bite and was amazed when they actually LIKED it and scooped on a regular serving. Thanks for posting this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Was a hit at a Holiday Picnic! Turned my back for a moment to get turkey, and turned back around to see it half gone! Got great raves from people there. I didn't use the cornflakes but sub marshmallows, and used pecans instead of walnuts. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States