Yam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This recipe ROCKS. My sister in law doesn't like sweet potatoes/yams but loved this. She didn't even know what it was. It is sweet and I loved it this way. I substituted pecans for the walnuts. I will make this every year now. Thanks to all the other people who rated it, that is why I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
I have never met Carol Graham, but I thank her a million times over for submitting this recipe. I've made it about 5 times now, and when I lost it, I was thrilled to be able to find it again on this website. It truly is the best yam casserole I've ever had, and my family/friends say the same. Also, I'm allergic to walnuts, so obviously I make it without them, and it's still INCREDIBLY good! Thank you for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
All I can say is WOW!! I've made this 2 years in a row now. The first year I made it, only we yam-lovers indulged. The non-believers only nibbled. The next year, even the non-believers indulged, and this year, I've already had special requests to make it...like I have a choice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
OH MY GOD!!! This is sooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2005
Was extremely sweet. Too sweet for our family but it was good. I made it into a dessert, I put a grahm cracker crust on the bottom of a 9x9 dish and used it as a dessert because it was so sweet. I liked it better like this. I also added a dew marshmellows on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
My husband said there were only two things he didn't care for at our Easter dinner and this recipe was one of them (the other was my MIL's layered lettuce salad). No one seemed to care for this dish. It's very sweet and tastes more like pumpkin than yams, which would have been fine for Thanksgiving but not Easter. Sorry, looks like I'm the only one not rating this a five-star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACERP
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
I was looking for somthing different too make for me and my b.f. and this turned out great, except it seemed a little thin. Next time I am going to reduce the amount of milk. I did not add any nuts, simply mixed butter and brown sugar. It was all I had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
YUMMY!! 2nd year in a row that I made this for big family Thanksgiving -- rave reviews from everyone! I probably have the "sweet potato" job for the next 30 years!! Most people commented that they enjoyed the change from the old marshmallow recipe and the little bit of crunch on this one! THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2004
I tried this recipe during the Thanksgiving holiday and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
My Family AGREES w/ the 5 Star rating. Next time I will use Splenda and light brown sugar w/ light butter ie. (I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Lite) to cut calories...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Moye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Chef John's Sweet Potato Casserole

See how to make not-too-sweet sweet potato casserole with a pistachio crust.

Sweet Potato Casserole II

See how to make fluffy sweet potatoes with a crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States