Yakitori Don Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Great flavor. I used chicken tender pieces, marinated overnight, skewered them and put them under the broiler. Easy and great presentation. Everyone thought they had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very easy to make which is a plus for me. Being a full time student and a housewife I am always busy. Loved the flavor!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This is a truly authentic Japanese recipe - at least it's the same recipe I was taught back in the 70's at Toronto Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre's cooking classes. It is delicious and easy to make. If you're not close to a Japanese grocery, most large Japanese supermarkets will ship or buy online! I love Japanese cuisine and used to order my staples from Union Grocery in Toronto's Chinatown when I lived in the hinterlands. They arrived at the train station with a handwritten bill that I paid with a return cheque!!! No PayPal gang....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was fantastic, we skewered these with green peppers, onions, and mushrooms and grilled. We didn't have mirin but used Japanese rice wine + the sake and sugar instead. The chicken carmalized beautifully and I will defn make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Great recipe... tastes exactly like the yakitori in Japan. You could also cut the chicken into small pieces (boneless, skinless) and after they are marinated place the pieceson skewers to BBQ. (This is how it is made and served by the street vendors in Japan) yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Loved it! So good we choose to make it while in Japan! The authentic Yakatori joint is down the street and we're not sure we can tell a difference! We added pea pods and mushrooms as well as crushed sesame seeds. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thanks for posting the recipe! This is even a surprisingly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
my food proof chicken marinade- always use this guy in a pinch- all of these ingredients are staples at my house! generally, i use honey instead of sugar (like the smoky flavor that it lends). also some chopped green onions are great with this. i generally use chicken breasts- pan fry- then cut into strips- serve over white rice- and frozen veggies- heat the marinade and add a touch of corn starch- and whalah- a teriyaki bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I'm half Japanese and eat japanese all the time, and I loved this! I added big pieces of green onion towards the end of the cooking process (I saw it that way in Japan) and it was yummy! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a family favorite. I often make the marinade and put the chicken in to freeze, so I have a meal ready to go with little prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shields, N.
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good. I used chicken breast meat and took the skin off before cooking. We enjoyed this dish fresh carrots and boiled soybeans (edamame). I also served it in a Japanese lunch box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States