Yakitori Don Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Loved it! So good we choose to make it while in Japan! The authentic Yakatori joint is down the street and we're not sure we can tell a difference! We added pea pods and mushrooms as well as crushed sesame seeds. Yum! Yum! Yum! Thanks for posting the recipe! This is even a surprisingly easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Great recipe... tastes exactly like the yakitori in Japan. You could also cut the chicken into small pieces (boneless, skinless) and after they are marinated place the pieceson skewers to BBQ. (This is how it is made and served by the street vendors in Japan) yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I'm half Japanese and eat japanese all the time, and I loved this! I added big pieces of green onion towards the end of the cooking process (I saw it that way in Japan) and it was yummy! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
You know, I cook a lot of asian food. Mosly japanese. This was actually quite delicious. I just made it last night and already my wife is asking for it again. i added a little sesame chile oil in place of some of the oil the recipe called for. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I did not have any saki or mirin so I just added White Wine. It turned out great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a family favorite. I often make the marinade and put the chicken in to freeze, so I have a meal ready to go with little prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
my food proof chicken marinade- always use this guy in a pinch- all of these ingredients are staples at my house! generally, i use honey instead of sugar (like the smoky flavor that it lends). also some chopped green onions are great with this. i generally use chicken breasts- pan fry- then cut into strips- serve over white rice- and frozen veggies- heat the marinade and add a touch of corn starch- and whalah- a teriyaki bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
Too salty for my taste. It needed a lot of rice to counteract the salt. Steamed broccoli went well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was fantastic, we skewered these with green peppers, onions, and mushrooms and grilled. We didn't have mirin but used Japanese rice wine + the sake and sugar instead. The chicken carmalized beautifully and I will defn make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Great flavor. I used chicken tender pieces, marinated overnight, skewered them and put them under the broiler. Easy and great presentation. Everyone thought they had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States