Yakitori Don Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
You know, I cook a lot of asian food. Mosly japanese. This was actually quite delicious. I just made it last night and already my wife is asking for it again. i added a little sesame chile oil in place of some of the oil the recipe called for. Came out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
I did not have any saki or mirin so I just added White Wine. It turned out great! My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I couldn't find mirin around here so I ended up using dry white wine and a little more sugar. I also added a bag of frozen mixed veggies to the dish to bulk it up and served this of tofu shirataki noodles. YUM. good recipe. Thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
This was fantastic, we skewered these with green peppers, onions, and mushrooms and grilled. We didn't have mirin but used Japanese rice wine + the sake and sugar instead. The chicken carmalized beautifully and I will defn make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
Very easy to make which is a plus for me. Being a full time student and a housewife I am always busy. Loved the flavor!! Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shields, N.
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good. I used chicken breast meat and took the skin off before cooking. We enjoyed this dish fresh carrots and boiled soybeans (edamame). I also served it in a Japanese lunch box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Higashikurume, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
This is a family favorite. I often make the marinade and put the chicken in to freeze, so I have a meal ready to go with little prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I'm half Japanese and eat japanese all the time, and I loved this! I added big pieces of green onion towards the end of the cooking process (I saw it that way in Japan) and it was yummy! thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Great flavor. I used chicken tender pieces, marinated overnight, skewered them and put them under the broiler. Easy and great presentation. Everyone thought they had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
my food proof chicken marinade- always use this guy in a pinch- all of these ingredients are staples at my house! generally, i use honey instead of sugar (like the smoky flavor that it lends). also some chopped green onions are great with this. i generally use chicken breasts- pan fry- then cut into strips- serve over white rice- and frozen veggies- heat the marinade and add a touch of corn starch- and whalah- a teriyaki bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Moscow (Federal City), Russia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

General Tsao's Chicken II

Mouthwatering fried chicken in a slightly sweet and spicy sauce.

How to Make Chicken Adobo

Give chicken thighs or duck legs the full Filipino-style adobo treatment.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States